Ryan Famuliner

Associate Professor

KBIA-FM, Journalism Professions

News Director, KBIA-FM

305 Lee Hills Hall
Missouri School of Journalism
Columbia, MO 65211-1200

RYAN FAMULINER, BJ ’07, joined KBIA-FM in February 2011. He previously worked as a general assignment reporter and videographer at WNDU-TV in South Bend, Indiana, and as a reporter and anchor at the Missourinet radio network in Jefferson City, Missouri. He’s reported nationally on NPR and WNYC’s The Takeaway.

Famuliner has personally won multiple national Sigma Delta Chi, Edward R. Murrow and PRNDI Awards for his reporting and editing work, as well as scores of state and regional awards. KBIA, under Famuliner’s guidance as news director, also won the General Excellence Award in the Online News Association’s Online Journalism Awards in 2015.

Famuliner created the state government data project Access Missouri, using grant funding from the University of Missouri, the Knight Foundation Prototype Fund and the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute. He’s overseen or contributed to numerous collaborative projects across the Missouri School of Journalism newsrooms, including the short documentary project “My Life, My Town” and partnerships with Vox Magazine and Missouri Business Alert. He’s also overseen KBIA’s participation in numerous external partnerships, including the multi-state, multi-station NPR reporting collaborations Harvest Public Media and Side Effects Public Media.

Famuliner trains students throughout the school to report and produce in the KBIA newsroom. He created an audio journalism curriculum and also co-created a multimedia journalism course that uses only mobile devices to gather media for reporting. Famuliner regularly oversees student capstone projects that have led to sustainable products such as the community storytelling project “Here Say” and the “True/False Podcast.” His students have won dozens of professional awards for their work under his guidance, including national Edward R. Murrow and Sigma Delta Chi Awards.

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All

Updated: April 7, 2022