Sharing stories and highlighting experiences

By Logan Jackson In high school, Jasmine Jackson was encouraged to find hands-on learning experiences that lined up with her passions. Jackson had enjoyed reading and writing since she was young and decided she would give writing for her school’s newspaper a try. After her first assignment, she was hooked. Jackson worked for her school’s … Continued

Bringing the news to life

By Logan Jackson When she was in middle school, Maya Dawson spent hours writing short stories and poetry, developing her own voice as an author. Once she got to high school, Dawson thought those skills would translate rather well to a journalism class she was interested in taking. While Dawson quickly learned that her journalistic … Continued

Developing her journalistic voice

By Logan Jackson An avid admirer of words, Ivy Reed jumped at the chance to join the Globe, Clayton High School’s Newsmagazine, during her freshman year. By the time her junior year rolled around, her passion for writing — and a lot of hard work — landed her a spot as an editor-in-chief of the … Continued

Turning curiosity into research

By Logan Jackson Faith Quist’s research project is a perfect reflection of her interdisciplinary interests. A dual major in journalism and international studies at the University of Missouri, Quist is studying a variety of materials related to North Korean defectors. Her primary focus is researching when individuals leave the country, where they go and why … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism partners with NBCU Academy

The new partnership includes scholarships to enhance affordability for journalism students from underrepresented communities and support for developing professional leadership training Contact: Sara Diedrich, 573-882-3243,               Lori Acio, NBCU News Group, The University of Missouri School of Journalism announced a new partnership today with NBCUniversal News Group’s NBCU Academy, a multiplatform journalism training and … Continued

Two Missouri School of Journalism students receive Hurley Scholarships to support participation in Washington Program

By Austin Fitzgerald COLUMBIA, Mo. (Jan. 17, 2023) — The Missouri School of Journalism has awarded $5,000 scholarships to two students who will spend the spring semester in the nation’s capital as part of the School’s Washington Program. The Curtis B. Hurley Washington Public Affairs Journalism Scholarships will support School of Journalism students Komlavi Adissem … Continued

Kelly Dereuck wins $7,000 Carol Loomis Scholarship for Business Reporting

The scholarship isn’t the first time Dereuck has benefitted from Loomis’ legacy By Austin Fitzgerald Columbia, Mo. (July 6, 2022) — Kelly Dereuck, a graduate student at the Missouri School of Journalism, has been awarded the $7,000 Carol Loomis Scholarship for Business Reporting. The scholarship, named for the School of Journalism alum, Missouri Honor Medal … Continued

Emily Hood wins Donald W. Reynolds Scholarship in Business Journalism

By Austin Fitzgerald Columbia, Mo. (July 5, 2022) — Emily Hood, a rising junior at the Missouri School of Journalism, has won the $2,500 Donald W. Reynolds Scholarship in Business Journalism in recognition of her dedication to excellent business journalism during her time at the School. “Emily has been a pioneer at the Missouri Business … Continued

Three Missouri School of Journalism doctoral students win coveted scholarship from American Academy of Advertising

Columbia, Mo. (June 28, 2022) — Evgeniia Belobrovkina, Ting-Hao Tsou, and Weilu Zhang have been awarded the American Academy of Advertising’s (AAA) Graduate Student Conference Scholarship. The award allowed the three Missouri School of Journalism doctoral students to travel to St. Petersburg, Florida, in March to present their research in person at the annual AAA … Continued