Missouri School of Journalism students gain hands-on experience covering Super Bowl, fan experience live from Miami

By Jennifer Nelson Columbia, Mo. (Feb. 17, 2020) — Missouri School of Journalism seniors Hannah Howard and Amber Raub gained hands-on experience covering the Super Bowl between the Kansas City Chiefs and the San Francisco 49ers and the fan experience live from Miami for the School’s NBC affiliate television station KOMU-TV. They shot, edited and … Continued

Senior Eli Lederman wins $1500 APSE Tim Wheatley Scholarship

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 4, 2019) — Missouri School of Journalism senior Eli Lederman has been selected as the winner of the $1500 Associated Press Sports Editors Tim Wheatley Scholarship. The annual scholarship, established in 2007, is one of four that APSE gives to collegiate sports journalists. The scholarships are awarded based on the quality of … Continued

Senior Adam Reckamp wins $3,000 Jim Murray Memorial Scholarship

The national scholarship recognizes students interested in a sports writing career. Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 3, 2019) — Missouri School of Journalism senior Adam Reckamp is one of five national winners of the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation scholarship. He will receive a $3,000 award and a trip to Los Angeles, Calif., in October where he and … Continued

Inside Sports: School Hosts National Sports Journalism Institute

For the sixth year in a row, the national Sports Journalism Institute‘s 10-day boot camp is being held at the Missouri School of Journalism May 26 through June 3. The nine-week training and internship program, led by Sandy Rosenbush of ESPN, Leon Carter of ESPN and Gregory Lee of NBA.com, is designed to attract talented … Continued

Missourian Reporters Win 7 Top Associated Press Sports Editors Awards

The National Contest Recognizes Excellence in Professional Sports Writing By Ashley Szatala Columbia, Mo. (March 9, 2016) — The Columbia Missourian and three Missouri School of Journalism sports reporters have won seven awards in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2015 contest. The results were recently announced at the APSE judging convention at the Poynter Institute … Continued

Junior Aaron Reiss Selected for National Sports Journalism Institute

He Will Intern at the Houston Chronicle as Part of the 9-Week Training and Internship Program Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 21, 2015) — Missouri School of Journalism junior Aaron Reiss is one of 12 students nationwide selected to participate in the Sports Journalism Institute. Reiss is a magazine journalism major from Houston and will intern at … Continued

Junior Aaron Reiss Wins $5,000 National Sports Journalism Scholarship

The Jim Murray Memorial Foundation Scholarship Is Awarded to Students Interested in a Sports Writing Career Columbia, Mo. (Aug. 4, 2015) — Aaron Reiss, a Missouri School of Journalism junior, is one of five national winners of the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation scholarship. Reiss, a magazine journalism major from Houston, will receive a $5,000 award … Continued

Missouri Wins Top Association of Women in Sports Media Honor

Campus Group Named National Student Chapter of the Year By Caroline Murray Columbia, Mo. (April 15, 2015) — The Missouri School of Journalism chapter of the Association for Women in Sports Media has been named the national winner of the third annual Student Chapter of the Year. An AWSM board committee selected the Missouri chapter … Continued

Students, Missourian Earn Awards in National Sports Editors Contest

Top 10 Honors Earned in 7 Categories of the Professional Competition By Caroline Murray Columbia, Mo. (Feb. 24, 2015) — The Columbia Missourian and its reporters were named to the top 10 in seven categories of the 2014 Associated Press Sports Editors Contest, a competition for professional news outlets nationwide. The Missourian competed in Category … Continued