The Missouri School of Journalism and Vox Magazine students win 6 awards, 3 honorable mentions in national contest

Missouri students received hands-on training – and won six awards and three honorable mentions from AEJMC along the way – while producing and designing the winning content for Vox Magazine, a cross-platform city magazine providing insight on local news and culture. Students gain hands-on experience as they learn how to write long-form journalism, observe the … Continued

Recent Journalism School alumna’s documentary named a semi-finalist in Student Academy Awards

Selected from a pool of 1,468 entries, Missouri alumna Sarah Sabatke, BJ ’18, MA ’20, received a semi-finalist recognition in the 47th annual Student Academy Awards. Sabatke pushes through challenges created by COVID-19, grief from the death of faculty mentor Columbia, Mo. (Aug. 18, 2020) — The documentary “Thoughts and Prayers,” produced by Missouri School … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism Associate Professor Amy Simons receives MU Connect Champions award

Associate Professor Amy Simons received the 2020 Excellence in Teaching Award from the @UPCEA for significant contributions to credit or noncredit programs and providing inspirational teaching to professional, continuing, and/or online education students. Award honors faculty, staff, teaching assistants and students who use the application creatively and effectively to enhance student success. By Marcus Wilkins … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism’s NPR-member station KBIA’s ‘Show Me The State,’ statewide health coverage win national awards

KBIA-FM’s “Show Me The State” podcast and the station’s health-related news coverage recently won several national awards and its report on Missouri’s adult abuse hotline – a collaborative project between KBIA and the School’s community newspaper, the Columbia Missourian – won two. By Nate Brown Columbia, Mo. (July 17, 2020) — KBIA-FM‘s “Show Me The … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism Professor Shelly Rodgers receives UM System President’s Award for Sustained Career Excellence

Columbia, Mo. (July 13, 2020) — Shelly Rodgers, professor of strategic communication at the Missouri School of Journalism, has been awarded the 2020 University of Missouri System President’s Award for Sustained Career Excellence. Each year, the UM System President’s Awards are presented on behalf of President Mun Choi to faculty members across the four universities … Continued

Missouri Journalism students win awards, scholarships in all five categories of the 2019-2020 Hearst Journalism Awards Program

Seventeen University of Missouri students, including a project team of 14, won awards and more than $10,000 in scholarships during the 2019-2020 Hearst Journalism Awards Program, which culminated recently with the 60th annual Hearst National Championships. Called the “Pulitzers of college journalism” – the Hearst awards consists of 14 competitions held throughout the school year. … Continued

Ty Stewart awarded O.O. McIntyre Fellowship

Working for the Columbia Missourian and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch allowed Mizzou alumnus Ty Stewart, MA ’19, to hone his prose to the point that he won the $12,000 O.O. McIntyre Fellowship, the most prestigious postgraduate award given by the J-School. The honor is the highest postgraduate award offered by the School. Columbia, Mo. (June … Continued

Two Missouri School of Journalism Graduate students receive ‘best paper’ at international conference

Two Missouri School of Journalism graduate students, Courtney Boman and Erika Schneider, were awarded Best Paper at the 23rd International Public Relations Research Conference. Columbia, Mo. (May 29, 2020) — Two Missouri School of Journalism graduate students, Courtney Boman and Erika Schneider, were awarded Best Paper on the 23rd IPRRC Theme Award: Connecting Theory and … Continued

‘Global Journalist,’ ‘Post’ win national Telly Awards

Passing of the Torch: The late PBS anchor and Missouri J-School alumni Jim Lehrer, BJ ’56 – at left, with Professor Kathy Kiely – was interviewed by convergence journalism senior Benjamin Brink in an episode of “Global Journalist” that recently won a 2020 Telly Award. Columbia, Mo. (May 29, 2020) — Two programs produced at … Continued

NSAC team advances to national finals, one of eight teams to compete in Adobe challenge

Tori Aerni, Haley Brock, Mitchell Davis, Audrey Dickens, Holly Enowski, Gracie Fitzgerald, Tori Foushee, Kit Frazen, Gina Gerstenecker, Gabriela Jurkiewicz, John Kurpius, Natalie Macintosh, Bella Mangan, Matt McMullen, Claire Nichols, Sheridan Powell, Lauren Spear, Tori Travers and Reed Wilson Team shows resilience in face of COVID-19 challenges By Jennifer Nelson Columbia, Mo. (May 19, 2020) … Continued