Missouri School of Journalism’s KBIA wins four regional Murrow Awards

By Austin Fitzgerald COLUMBIA, Mo. (May 30, 2024) — KBIA-FM, the Missouri News Network’s NPR-member radio station, has won four regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including two wins for “Canned Peaches,” a podcast delving into the stories behind common foods that launched last November. The awards — more than any other organization in Region 5, … Continued

Columbia Missourian wins $20,000 to supercharge community engagement

The grant is the maximum possible award from the LION Sustainability Audits and Funding Program The Columbia Missourian has earned a $20,000 sustainability award from Local Independent Online News (LION) Publishers. It’s not the first award from LION for the Missouri News Network’s community newspaper, which won a LION Local Journalism Award in 2022, but … Continued

J-School commencement ceremony on Friday, May 10, at Mizzou Arena

Download the program for Commencement 2024 The Missouri School of Journalism will recognize May and August graduates at its 7 p.m. commencement ceremony on Friday, May 10, at Mizzou Arena on the University of Missouri campus. Seating is open and no tickets are required. Guests can enter the arena for seating at 6:30 p.m. Graduate degrees will be awarded … Continued

11 J-School students tapped into 5 secret societies on Tap Day

Eleven Missouri School of Journalism students were tapped into five secret honorary societies during the 97th annual Tap Day. Tap Day is an annual spring event that recognizes students who excel in academics and campus involvement as inductees into the University of Missouri’s secret honorary societies. Many of the societies also induct staff and faculty as … Continued

KBIA wins three Gracie Awards for second straight year

By Austin Fitzgerald COLUMBIA, Mo. (April 16, 2024) — KBIA-FM, the NPR-member station at the Missouri School of Journalism, has earned three Gracie Awards for its reporting. The prestigious awards from the Alliance for Women in Media match KBIA’s performance from last year, when the station also took home three honors. “It’s great to see … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism’s Amy Simons wins Provost’s Award for University Citizenship

By Austin Fitzgerald COLUMBIA, Mo. (Mar. 20, 2024) — Professor Amy Simons at the Missouri School of Journalism has earned the Provost’s Faculty Mentoring Award, one of the university-wide Provost’s Awards for University Citizenship. The award comes with a $1,000 prize and recognizes Simons’ mentorship of faculty colleagues. “Amy has provided generous and inspiring mentorship … Continued