School of Journalism Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research Earnest Perry wins national AEJMC award 

Perry is the 2021 recipient of the Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity and Research. Columbia, Mo. (May 20, 2021) — Earnest Perry, associate professor and associate dean for graduate studies and research, has been chosen to receive the 2021 Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research … Continued

Three Journalism faculty awarded Reynolds Faculty Fellowships

Annual endowment will be used for salary supplement and support for teaching and research. Columbia, Mo. (May 19, 2021) — Three University of Missouri Journalism faculty have been selected to receive a Reynolds Faculty Fellowship award. These unique fellowships provide support for scholarship and research, in addition to salary enhancements, in recognition of high-quality work. … Continued

Associate Professor Holly Higginbotham awarded the McIntyre Professorship for Teaching Excellence

The award comes with a $10,000 salary supplement for next academic year. Columbia, Mo. (May 14, 2021) — Associate Professor Holly Higginbotham is the 2021 recipient  of the Missouri School of Journalism’s O.O. McIntyre Professorship. The award recognizes teaching excellence and comes with a $10,000 salary supplement for the 2021-22 academic year. Higginbotham teaches strategic communication courses … Continued

Understanding how people make sense of the news they consume

University of Missouri researchers hope their findings can be translated into better user experiences for consuming news on digital news platforms How people consume news and take actions based on what they read, hear or see, is different than how human brains process other types of information on a daily basis, according to researchers at … Continued

Associate Professor Yong Volz receives Ann K. Covington award

Award recognizes outstanding mentors.  Columbia, Mo. (May 12, 2021) — Associate Professor Yong Volz is the recipient of the Ann K. Covington Award from the MU Fellowship Office. The award recognizes members of the university faculty or staff who have mentored an undergraduate applicant for at least one nationally competitive fellowship.  Students who have applied … Continued

Finding resiliency in local, community news gathering

Study by journalism professors at University of Missouri and University of Kansas explores impact of COVID-19 on U.S. community newspapers. By Eric Stann Columbia, Mo. (April 13, 2021) — When the Webster-Kirkwood Times, a community newspaper in the greater St. Louis, Missouri area, had to endure layoffs and stop publishing its print edition — due … Continued

Shelly Rodgers named Maxine Wilson Gregory Chair in Journalism Research

Columbia, Mo. (April 8, 2021) — Shelly Rodgers has been named the Maxine Wilson Gregory Chair in Journalism Research at the Missouri School of Journalism, effective Sept. 1, 2021. A professor in strategic communication, she is recognized internationally for exceptional research productivity and impact in top advertising and health communication journals. Rodgers is ranked nationally … Continued

Missouri Journalism School Professor Shelly Rodgers receives two prestigious awards for excellence in research and teaching

By Zach Taylor Columbia, Mo. (April 6, 2021) — For a college professor, being a good teacher and researcher are the two most important skills one could have.  Shelly Rodgers, professor of strategic communication at the School of Journalism, has both. On March 11, Rodgers received the 2020-2021 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching from … Continued

School of Journalism Associate Professor Ryan Thomas awarded the MU Faculty Council Shared Governance award

Columbia, Mo. (March 26, 2021) — Missouri School of Journalism Associate Professor Ryan Thomas is the individual award recipient of the MU Faculty Council Shared Governance award.  This individual award recognizes a faculty member who has made significant contributions to shared governance. Thomas was recognized at the joint meeting of Faculty Council and the Chancellor, … Continued