Missouri School of Journalism Receives $590,000 Grant to Host Reynolds High School Journalism Institutes

Columbia, Mo. (April 16, 2007) — The American Society of Newspaper Editors and the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation has awarded the Missouri School of Journalism $590,000 over the next three years to host an innovative training program for high school journalism advisers nationwide. From July 8-20, the School will offer its first Reynolds High School Journalism … Continued

Missouri Journalism Announces Big Plans for Twin Celebration in 2008

Columbia, Mo. (Feb. 12, 2007) — The Missouri School of Journalism today announced plans to celebrate the centennial of the School and the dedication of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute. The festivities on the University of Missouri-Columbia campus are scheduled for Wednesday through Friday, Sept. 10-12, 2008. It was on Sept. 14, 1908, that … Continued

Jeffrey Dvorkin Named New CCJ Executive Director and Goldenson Chair at the Missouri School of Journalism

Columbia, Mo. (June 20, 2006) — Jeffrey Dvorkin, the first ombudsman for a major U.S. broadcast news organization, has been named the new executive director of the Committee of Concerned Journalists and the Goldenson Chair in Community Broadcasting at the Missouri School of Journalism. Dean Mills, dean of journalism, announced the appointment today. Dvorkin comes from NPR, where … Continued

Rick Shaw Named Director of Pictures of the Year International

Columbia, Mo. (June 8, 2006) — Rick Shaw, an award-winning photojournalist and design editor, has been named director of Pictures of the Year International (POYi). Pam Johnson, executive director of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute, announced the appointment today. POYi, a 63-year-old international photojournalism competition and educational program, will be headquartered in the Institute facilities at … Continued

Live from J-School: Institute Construction

Construction site of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute; an east view from the roof of Gannett Hall. By Rachel Dennis Columbia, Mo. (March 27, 2006) — Keeping up with the construction of the new Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute is now as close as opening your computer’s Web browser and pointing to https://journalism.missouri.edu/. A new Webcam is providing … Continued

Innovative Digital eMprint Delivers Breaking News

Nieman Reports Uses eMprint to Get Stories to Journalists Quickly Columbia, Mo. (Jan. 17, 2006) — With a federal court’s decision on the public school teaching of intelligent design looming in mid-December, Nieman Reports Editor Melissa Ludtke knew that her upcoming issue of the quarterly journalism magazine, with a collection of articles about news coverage of … Continued

Knight Foundation Awards $2.28 Million Grant to School and Committee of Concerned Journalists

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 31, 2005) — The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation has awarded a $2.28 million grant to the Committee of Concerned Journalists and the Missouri School of Journalism. The three-year grant will support the CCJ’s Traveling Curriculum and constitutes the Committee’s first step to joining the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute. The Reynolds Journalism Institute … Continued

New Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute to Focus on the Future of Journalism

In 2008, technology allows citizens around the world to wake up to a personalized newspaper – full color and bound – printed in their own homes … In local newsrooms, reporters, producers and directors give their audiences control of the news, information or entertainment they desire … Researchers, journalists and citizens celebrate progress made since … Continued

Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute Names Three to Its Executive Staff

Columbia, Mo. (Aug. 30, 2005) — The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute at the Missouri School of Journalism recently named three to its executive staff. Executive Director Pam Johnson announced the three new members: Roger Gafke, Director of Program Development; Esther Thorson, Director of Research; and Roger Fidler, Director of Technology Initiatives. The Institute focuses on advanced … Continued