Caleb O’Brien Wins $12,000 O.O. McIntyre Fellowship

The Postgraduate Honor Will Allow Him to Tell Stories of Paraguay’s Society, Politics and Environment By Rebecca Dell Columbia, Mo. (June 12, 2015) — Missouri School of Journalism master’s student Caleb O’Brien has won the O.O. McIntyre Fellowship, the most prestigious postgraduate award given by the Missouri School of Journalism. The program’s one-year, $12,000 stipend … Continued

Missouri Has Strong Presence at International Communication Conference

Faculty, Students and Alumni Present 39 Refereed Papers, Earn 4 Top Paper Awards Columbia, Mo. (May 28, 2015) — Missouri School of Journalism faculty, students and alumni presented 39 refereed papers at the 65th annual conference of the International Communication Association. The four-day meeting was held May 21-25 in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Five of … Continued

3 Missouri Students Selected for Paid Dow Jones News Fund Internships

The New York Times, The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Kansas City Star to Benefit from Their Multimedia Skills Columbia, Mo. (May 13, 2015) — Three Missouri School of Journalism students will be among 92 undergraduate and graduate students joining the Dow Jones News Fund this summer. They will be working as business reporters, digital journalists, and … Continued

Journalism Graduates to Be Recognized at May Commencement Ceremony

The Program Will Begin at 4:30 p.m., Saturday, May 16, at Mizzou Arena Columbia, Mo. (May 6, 2015) — The Missouri School of Journalism will recognize 460 students at the 4:30 p.m. commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 16, at Mizzou Arena. Seating is open, and no tickets are required. Graduate degrees will be awarded to … Continued

Caleb O’Brien Wins the Don Romero Prize for Magazine Writing

Judges Say O’Brien Fuses Lyrical Writing with Vigorous Reporting Columbia, Mo. (April 30, 2015) — Missouri School of Journalism graduate student Caleb O’Brien is the winner of the 2015 Don Romero Prize for outstanding magazine writing. The prize was established in honor of Don Romero, a former magazine professor at the Missouri School of Journalism, by … Continued

7 Students Attend White House Correspondents’ Association Dinner

The Scholarship Winners Met President and Mrs. Obama, Notable Journalists and Celebrities at the Star-Studded Event By Abby Johnston Washington (April 30, 2015) — On April 25, seven Missouri School of Journalism graduate students got to hug first lady Michelle Obama. Oh, yeah, and the president was there, too. In addition to being wrapped in FLOTUS’ … Continued

KBIA-FM and KOMU-TV Win Total of 6 RTDNA Region 5 Edward R. Murrow Awards

Top Honors Were Received in Sports Reporting, Website, Feature Reporting, Investigative Reporting, Writing and Overall Excellence Categories By Rebecca Dell Columbia, Mo. (April 28, 2015) — The Missouri School of Journalism had a strong showing in this year’s Region 5 Edward R. Murrow Awards, given out by the Radio Television Digital News Association. KOMU-TV won … Continued

SoundStir Takes Top Honors in 2015 RJI Student Competition

Turnip Team Awarded for Technical Innovation Columbia, Mo. (April 23, 2015) — SoundStir, an Android app designed to be “the only mobile community for public radio listeners,” has won the grand prize in the eighth annual Reynolds Journalism Institute Student Competition. This year’s sponsor was the Public Media Platform (PMP), a digital repository of audio, video, … Continued