J-School Student Wins RTNDF President’s Scholarship

Columbia, Mo. (Aug. 5, 2005) — Hayley Salvo, a senior broadcast journalism major at the Missouri School of Journalism, recently won the Radio-Television News Directors Foundation (RTNDF) President’s Scholarship worth $2500. Salvo, originally from Carrollton, Texas, is a reporter and anchor for KBIA radio, the NPR affiliate station on the campus of the University of Missouri-Columbia. She is also … Continued

Kyle Palmer Wins $10,000 Scholarship

Columbia, Mo. (June 23, 2004) – Kyle Palmer, a senior broadcast news student at the Missouri School of Journalism, is one of the “Top Ten” Scripps Howard Foundation national scholarship winners. Earlier this year, Palmer won an individual award in the Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio-Television News Directors Association. His entry in the … Continued

KBIA Newsroom Wins Two Edward R. Murrow Awards from RTNDA

Columbia, Mo. (April 20, 2004) — KBIA recently won two Edward R. Murrow awards from the Radio-Television News Director Association (RTNDA). The Murrow Awards honor outstanding achievements in electronic journalism. KBIA is a National Public Radio member station and is owned and operated by the Missouri School of Journalism. The station received the regional award for Best … Continued

Journalism Student Selected for Early Membership to Phi Beta Kappa

Columbia, Mo. (April 5, 2004) –Kyle Palmer, a broadcast news major from Independence, Mo., is one of ten University of Missouri juniors selected for early membership into the Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Phi Beta Kappa Society is the oldest and most prestigious academic honor society that recognizes academic excellence in arts and sciences. … Continued