13 Missouri Journalism Students Chosen to Lead Summer Welcome

The Orientation Leaders Will Help New Mizzou Students Prepare for the Fall Semester

Columbia, Mo. (May 8, 2013) — Questions about classes, student organizations and sporting events: Incoming University of Missouri students have lots of questions about all aspects of campus life. Thirteen Missouri School of Journalism students will be among the 36 to help them prepare for their first semester on campus during Summer Welcome.

2013 Missouri Journalism Summer Welcome Orientation Leaders

Julia Bush Ethan Colbert Dylan Eike
Javier Fernandez Connor Hickox
Andi Kaufman Tiffany Melecio Tucker Moore
Allison Pudlik Alexander Ralph
Amy Sayers Jake Wallach Kayley Weinberg

Top row, from left: Julia Bush, Ethan Colbert, Dylan Eike. Second row: Javier Fernandez, Connor Hickox. Third row: Andi Kaufman, Tiffany Melecio, Tucker Moore. Fourth row: Allison Pudlik, Alexander Ralph. Fifth row: Amy Sayers, Jake Wallach, Kayley Weinberg.

Summer Welcome is Mizzou’s advising, registration and orientation program for new and transfer students who will start classes in the fall. It is an interactive one- or two-day session that provides essential information sessions and introduces concepts of college culture. It assists students in navigating buildings, residential halls and dining services. Summer Welcome also provides the new students with the opportunity to meet with an academic adviser from their intended major and complete their fall 2013 course schedule.

The journalism students who will serve as hosts and share their experiences with new students are the following. They represent a variety of areas of study at the School.

  • Julia Bush, magazine writing, from Keller, Texas.
  • Ethan Colbert, news reporting and political science, from Frankford, Mo.
  • Dylan Eike, radio and television reporting, anchoring, from Woodbury, Minn.
  • Javier Fernandez, international journalism and Spanish.
  • Connor Hickox, strategic communication and information technology, from Liberty, Mo.
  • Andi Kaufman, strategic communication, public relations.
  • Tiffany Melecio, photojournalism/English, from Florissant, Mo.
  • Tucker Moore, strategic communication.
  • Allison Pudlik, strategic communication, from St. Charles, Ill.
  • Alexander Ralph, strategic communication.
  • Amy Sayers, strategic communication, from Hartland, Wis.
  • Jake Wallach, convergence journalism, from St. Louis.
  • Kayley Weinberg, journalism.

Updated: July 16, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All