Alexis Allison Named the 2018 Winner of the Atwater Prize for Writing

Master’s Student’s Stories Aim to Connect People from Disparate Backgrounds, Beliefs Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 30, 2018) — Graduate student Alexis Allison is the winner of the 2018 James and Patricia Atwater Memorial Writing Prize. The award provides a $500 stipend to one elite writing student each year. Allison submitted three articles that were published in … Continued

Senior Claire Mitzel Awarded $2,500 Homer L. Hall Scholarship

The Scholarship Honors a Former Missouri High School Newspaper Adviser Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 20, 2018) — Missouri School of Journalism senior Claire Mitzel has been named the 2019 recipient of the Homer L. Hall Scholarship. The Roanoke, Virginia, native has spent the past two years working as an assistant city editor and reporter for the … Continued

Moore Foundation Awards $500,000-Plus Grant to Support Health Journalism

Association of Health Care Journalists Professional Organization is Headquartered at Missouri Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 5, 2018) — The Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism, the educational arm of the Association of Health Care Journalists, has been awarded a grant of more than half a million dollars to strengthen the knowledge and skills of health … Continued

Stacey Woelfel to Be Honored by Mizzou Alumni Association

Annual MAA Recognition Celebrates Outstanding Service and Professional Accomplishments Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 1, 2018) — The Mizzou Alumni Association (MAA) will honor 14 outstanding faculty and alumni Nov. 9 at its 51st annual Faculty-Alumni Awards Ceremony in the Reynolds Alumni Center. The Distinguished Service Award, the Distinguished Faculty Award and 12 Faculty-Alumni Awards will be … Continued

David Rees Named to Missouri Photojournalism Hall of Fame

By Nate Brown Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 30, 2018) — David Rees received a C-plus on a photo class assignment in 1974. Undeterred, he continued his graduate studies, which led to a decades-long career behind the lens and in front of the classroom. On Oct. 18, he was inducted into the Missouri Photojournalism Hall of Fame. … Continued