Contest Recognizes Seven for Outstanding Summer Journalism Work

Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 11, 2004) — Seven Missouri School of Journalism magazine and news-editorial students were recognized for outstanding work completed in newsrooms during the past summer. Christian Detrick, Andrew Eder, Brandon Hoops, Sarah Larimer, Cristian Lupsa, Elspeth Reeve and Arthur Wedler each received a cash prize of $50 for their winning entries in the “What … Continued

MA Student Named 2004 David Kaplan Memorial Fellow at ABC News in D.C.

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 27, 2004) — Master’s student Ross Todd is the 2004 recipient of the David Kaplan Memorial Fellowship, which is awarded each year to one Missouri graduate student who specializes in broadcast producing. Todd will be the thirteenth David Kaplan Fellow. David Kaplan was a producer for Sam Donaldson at ABC News when … Continued

New Brochure Available for Five-Year BJ/MA Program

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 21, 2004) — A new brochure about the Five-Year Bachelor’s/Master’s Program at the Missouri School of Journalism is now available online and in print. The program allows a student to earn a master’s degree in just 12 months after the completion of the Bachelor of Journalism degree. “The Five-Year Bachelor’s/Master’s Program provides … Continued

The 8th Edition of The Art of Editing Published

Journalism Faculty Member Brian Brooks Co-authors New Edition of Leading Editing Text Columbia, Mo. (Aug. 23, 2004) — The Art of Editing, the 8th edition of the leading text on the subject, addresses convergence that is taking place among print media, radio and television, and the Web. The book is co-authored by Brian S. Brooks, a news-editorial … Continued

Kyle Palmer Wins $10,000 Scholarship

Columbia, Mo. (June 23, 2004) – Kyle Palmer, a senior broadcast news student at the Missouri School of Journalism, is one of the “Top Ten” Scripps Howard Foundation national scholarship winners. Earlier this year, Palmer won an individual award in the Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio-Television News Directors Association. His entry in the … Continued

Missouri Journalism Wins Hearst Overall Intercollegiate Competition

Columbia, Mo. (June 21, 2004) — The Missouri School of Journalism won the overall intercollegiate competition in the 2003-04 Hearst Journalism Awards Program and placed second in the overall writing category. Often called “The Pulitzers of College Journalism,” the Hearst program holds year-long competitions in writing, photography and broadcast news. Journalism schools accumulating the most points earned … Continued

Four Missouri Journalism Students Win in Hearst National Championships

Columbia, Mo. (June 21, 2004) — Four Missouri School of Journalism students placed in the Hearst National Writing, Photojournalism and Broadcast News Championships. The Championships, the culmination of the 2003-04 journalism awards program, with more than 100 undergraduate colleges and universities competing under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, … Continued

Two Journalism Faculty Members Named to the 2004 Class of Apple Distinguished Educators

Columbia, Mo. (June 2, 2004) — Two Missouri School of Journalism faculty members are joining a select group of national education professionals chosen by Apple Computer for their commitment to innovations in teaching and research. Apple Distinguished Educators are among the first to make effective use of technology to support learning objectives in the classroom. … Continued

Journalism Students Visit Clinton Retailers

Courtesy of the Clinton Daily Democrat Clinton, Mo. (May 18, 2004) — The Missouri School of Journalism Students who are making the marketing of Clinton a school project, interviewed several businesses on Tuesday, May 18. Businesses who participated spent two to three hours with the students, which included answering questions and “show and tell” time, … Continued

School Recognizes 349 Graduates

Columbia, Mo. (May 17, 2004) — The Missouri School of Journalism recognized 349 graduates at its spring commencement ceremonies held Saturday, May 15, at the Hearnes Center. There were 87 students who received a graduate degree. Seven received the doctor of philosophy degree and the rest earned a master of arts degree. The School recognized … Continued