Jeimmie Nevalga Selected for Dori Maynard Diversity Leadership Program

The Society of Professional Journalists Program Strives to Increase Diversity Participation in Its Regional and National Levels Columbia, Mo. (Aug. 20, 2015) — Assistant Professor Jeimmie Nevalga is one of five journalists selected for the Dori Maynard Diversity Leadership Program, sponsored by the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation. Maynard was a longtime champion of diversity in … Continued

Investigative Reporting Students Produce 50-Plus Stories for KOMU-TV

Columbia, Mo. (July 22, 2015) — When KOMU-TV sports reporters Jay Wallis and Morgan Uber graduated from the Missouri School of Journalism in May, their portfolios included an investigative report that had gained national attention. The story started with the two television journalism seniors looking at how a new football stadium might help St. Louis … Continued

More than 560 Awards and Honors: Missouri Students, Faculty Celebrate Excellence

Individual and School Achievements Represent the Highest Standards in Research, Multimedia, Writing and More Columbia, Mo. (July 14, 2015) — Missouri School of Journalism students, faculty and staff earned more than 560 top awards, honors and other recognitions during the 2014-15 academic year. Among the listings are a National Edward R. Murrow Award, selections for … Continued

KOMU-TV, KBIA-FM Win 15 Awards for Broadcasting Excellence

The Annual Missouri Broadcasters Association Contest Recognizes Quality and Achievement Columbia, Mo. (June 9, 2015) — KOMU-TV and KBIA-FM were honored with 15 awards from the Missouri Broadcasters Association at the group’s annual awards ceremony at the Lake of the Ozarks June 6. Both stations provide hands-on, real-media experiences for Missouri School of Journalism students. KOMU, … Continued

KOMU Journalists Win National Student Television Awards for News Stories

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Mid-America Chapter Competition Recognizes Outstanding Work By Rebecca Dell Columbia, Mo. (May 8, 2015) — Seniors Jessica Mensch and Mihir Bhagat have received the Student Television Award from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Mid-America Chapter for stories that aired on KOMU-TV. The competition recognizes … Continued

KBIA-FM and KOMU-TV Win Total of 6 RTDNA Region 5 Edward R. Murrow Awards

Top Honors Were Received in Sports Reporting, Website, Feature Reporting, Investigative Reporting, Writing and Overall Excellence Categories By Rebecca Dell Columbia, Mo. (April 28, 2015) — The Missouri School of Journalism had a strong showing in this year’s Region 5 Edward R. Murrow Awards, given out by the Radio Television Digital News Association. KOMU-TV won … Continued

Top TV Recruiters Tap Missouri Journalism Students for Job Openings

Visiting Organizations Represented More Than a Third of All Television Newsrooms in America By Caroline Murray Columbia, Mo. (April 22, 2015) — The Missouri School of Journalism hosted its largest job placement effort ever for television students this spring. From February to April, recruiters from 10 major media organizations visited campus to critique student work … Continued

Convergence Students Win National Korva Coleman Excellence Award

Team Used Data Journalism Skills in Winning Story to Identify Lapses in Enforcement of Convicted Sex Offenders Laws By Rebecca Dell Columbia, Mo. (April 10, 2015) — A team of three Missouri School of Journalism convergence students – Bell Johnson, Shelby Mann and Lauren Slome – have won the 2015 Korva Coleman Excellence Award in … Continued

Broadcast Category Winners of Mastering the Method Contest Announced

Shay McAlister and Shale Remien Each Win $100 for Their Outstanding Work Columbia, Mo. (April 10, 2015) — Missouri School of Journalism students Shay McAlister and Shale Remien have been named the winners of this year’s Mastering the Method contest in the broadcast category. Each student submitted three stories. Remien, a senior, was recognized for … Continued

Missouri Journalism Students Win 12 Regional SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards

5 Earn First Place and Advance to National Competition Columbia, Mo. (April 2, 2015) — Missouri School of Journalism students earned 12 regional awards in the Society of Professional Journalists‘ Mark of Excellence competition, which recognizes the best work in collegiate journalism. Nine of the entries were published in Vox Magazine, a small-city, multi-platform publication … Continued