Missouri School of Journalism Recognized as Founding Member of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication

Dean Mills Accepts Plaque During Organization’s Centennial Convention

Chicago (Aug. 14, 2012) – The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication recognized the Missouri School of Journalism’s role in its founding during the organization’s centennial convention in Chicago. Dean Mills, dean of the School, accepted the plaque presented during a special ceremony at the conference.

AEJMC 2012Founding Dean Walter Williams and Willard Grosvenor Bleyer of the University of Wisconsin were instrumental in founding the American Association of Teachers of Journalism and the Association of American Schools and Departments of Journalism, both precursors to today’s AEJMC. Missouri journalism professor Frank Lee Martin was among the 23 people present at the group’s first conference at the Hotel Sherman in Chicago on Nov. 30, 1912.

The talk was about creating a permanent organization that, according to the Constitution approved that day, would “hold an annual conference of those interested in the teaching of journalism, where opportunity shall be offered for hearing papers on that subject and for discussing them; and to collect statistics relating to schools, courses and teachings in journalism.” Plans were made for a second meeting in 1913 in Madison, Wis. And so AEJMC began.

Today AEJMC has grown to some 4,000 members from around the world. The research and classroom practices of these journalism and mass communication educators, students and media professionals work to defend and maintain freedom of communication.

The School’s faculty and students are active in all aspects of AEJMC, as leaders in the organization at large, its divisions and interest groups and steering committees as well as participate in AEJMC-sponsored research competitions.

Updated: June 9, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All