Journalism Faculty, Students and Alumni Receive 18 Awards for Outstanding Peer-Reviewed Research Papers at AEJMC

Columbia, Mo. (Sept. 8, 2011) — Missouri School of Journalism faculty, students and alumni received a total of 18 top awards at the annual Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) conference. The international meeting was held Aug. 10-13 in St. Louis.

Christopher Saunders
Christopher Saunders
Elizabeth Lance
Elizabeth Lance
Hongbo Gao
Hongbo Gao

The meeting brings the world’s top mass media and journalism researchers together each year. Founded in 1912, the AEJMC is an international nonprofit organization composed of more than 4,000 faculty, students and administrators at journalism and mass communication schools from 32 different countries.

The high honors were earned in 15 of the organization’s 28 divisions and interest groups. The award-winning faculty, student and alumni papers were:

Nan Wu
Nan Wu
Brendan Watson
Brendan Watson

Advertising Division

  • Second Place Research Paper: Responses to User-Generated Brand Videos: The Persuasion Inference Model. Chang-Dae Ham, PhD ’11, Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Esther Thorson.

Communication Theory and Methodology Division

  • Top Faculty Paper: Experimental Methodology in Journalism and Mass Communication Research. Rob Wicks, MA ’80, Arkansas, Esther Thorson and Glenn Leshner.

Community Journalism Interest Group

  • Top Student Paper: Community News as Collective Action. Mark Poepsel.

Graduate Education Interest Group

  • Third Place Paper: An Empirical Study on How IPTV Affects Chinese Peasants’ Attitudinal Modernity. Nan Wu and Hongbo Gao.

History Division

  • Top Faculty Paper: The Gathering Mists of Time: American Magazines and Revolutionary Memory, 1787-1860. Janice Hume, PhD ’97, MA ’95, BJ ’81, Georgia.

Law and Policy Division

  • First Place Faculty Paper: Can I Use This Photo I Found on Facebook? Fair Use and Social Media Images. Daxton Stewart, PhD ’09, MA ’04, Texas Christian.

Mass Communication and Society Division

  • Top Papers, Second Place: Hostile Media and Presumed Effects in North Carolina. Brendan Watson, MA ’08, and Daniel Riffe, UNC.
  • Top Papers, Fourth Place (Honorable Mention): The Green Editorial Debate: A Comparison of the Framing of Environmental Issues in the Columbia Daily Tribune and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Maria Garcia, Guy J. Golan, Syracuse, and Jeffrey Joe Pe-Aguirre, PhD ’10, Central Arkansas.

Media Ethics Division

  • Top Paper, Special Call: The Psychology of Plagiarism. Norman Lewis and Bu Zhong, MA ’00, Penn State.

Minorities and Communication Division

  • First Place Faculty Paper: Mass Media and Perceived and Objective Environmental Risk: Race and Place of Residence. Brendan Watson, MA ’08, UNC, Lynsy Smithson-Stanley, BJ ’06, Daniel Riffe and Emily Ogilvie.
  • Second Place Faculty Paper: What Are You Talking About? Differences in Twitter Uses and Gratifications Between Black and White Twitter Users. Christopher Saunders, Saleem Alhabash, PhD ’11, Michigan State; and Cynthia Frisby.

Newspaper Division

  • Top Faculty Paper: Covering a World in Conflict: The New York Times and Peace Journalism. Elizabeth Lance and Beverly Horvit and Amy Youngblood, Texas Christian.

Radio-Television Journalism Division

  • Top Faculty Paper: Thirty Years of Broadcasting Africa on the U.S. Network Television News by Yusuf Kalyango, PhD ’08, MA ’04, Ohio and Uche Onyebadi, PhD ’08, MA ’05, Southern Illinois

Updated: June 4, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All