Journalism students named to Knight Nonprofit News internship summer program

Five students will work for INN member newsrooms on a variety of projects. Columbia, Mo. (June 1, 2021) — This summer five Missouri School of Journalism students will take part in the Knight Nonprofit News Internship program, a diverse scholarship partnership between MU and the Institute for Nonprofit News. The program strives to develop a … Continued

Two Journalism students awarded 2021 Don Romero Prize

Julian Nazar and Aiman Javed will each receive a $1,200 cash award. Columbia, Mo. (May 21, 2021) — Two Missouri School of Journalism graduate students have been selected as recipients of the 2021 Don Romero Prize for outstanding magazine writing. Julian Nazar and Aiman Javed will each receive a $1,200 cash award. Meet this year’s … Continued

School of Journalism Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research Earnest Perry wins national AEJMC award 

Perry is the 2021 recipient of the Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity and Research. Columbia, Mo. (May 20, 2021) — Earnest Perry, associate professor and associate dean for graduate studies and research, has been chosen to receive the 2021 Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research … Continued

Three Journalism faculty awarded Reynolds Faculty Fellowships

Annual endowment will be used for salary supplement and support for teaching and research. Columbia, Mo. (May 19, 2021) — Three University of Missouri Journalism faculty have been selected to receive a Reynolds Faculty Fellowship award. These unique fellowships provide support for scholarship and research, in addition to salary enhancements, in recognition of high-quality work. … Continued

School of Journalism’s MOJO Ad presents annual State of the YAYA report

Marketers across the country tuned in to uncover insight into how they can better target this elusive 18- to 24-year-old demographic. By Zach Taylor Columbia, Mo. (May 19, 2021) — MOJO Ad just had its grand finale. The premier, student-staffed ad agency at the Missouri School of Journalism put the spotlight on the youth and … Continued

Lamar Henderson receives the School of Journalism Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award

Columbia, Mo. (May 14, 2021) — Lamar Henderson, internet administrator at the Missouri School of Journalism, is the recipient of the 2021 Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award. With this recognition, Henderson received $500 cash award and a plaque. Each year, this award is presented to a staff person who exhibits high levels of professionalism, initiative and … Continued

Associate Professor Holly Higginbotham awarded the McIntyre Professorship for Teaching Excellence

The award comes with a $10,000 salary supplement for next academic year. Columbia, Mo. (May 14, 2021) — Associate Professor Holly Higginbotham is the 2021 recipient  of the Missouri School of Journalism’s O.O. McIntyre Professorship. The award recognizes teaching excellence and comes with a $10,000 salary supplement for the 2021-22 academic year. Higginbotham teaches strategic communication courses … Continued

Associate Professor Yong Volz receives Ann K. Covington award

Award recognizes outstanding mentors.  Columbia, Mo. (May 12, 2021) — Associate Professor Yong Volz is the recipient of the Ann K. Covington Award from the MU Fellowship Office. The award recognizes members of the university faculty or staff who have mentored an undergraduate applicant for at least one nationally competitive fellowship.  Students who have applied … Continued