11 Graduate Students Receive $3,000 White House Correspondents’ Association Scholarships

White House Correspondents’ Association scholarship winners pose for a photo during the annual dinner on April 29. Missouri recipients are: front row: Jinghong Chen (third from left), Kasia Kovacs, Kouichi Shirayanagi, Xuejiao Wang, Molly Olmstead and Brittany Crocker (fifth through ninth from left). Back row: Francisco Vara-Orta (center), Jill Olmstead and Adam Aton (third and … Continued

Elizabeth Brixey Wins the McIntyre Professorship for Teaching Excellence

Associate Professor Elizabeth Brixey (pictured here with Dean David Kurpius) is the 2017 winner of the O.O. McIntyre Professorship at the Missouri School of Journalism. The Award Comes with a $10,000 Salary Supplement for Next Academic Year Columbia, Mo. (May 24, 2017) — Associate Professor Elizabeth Brixey is the 2017 winner of the O.O. McIntyre … Continued

Graduate Student Wins a $3,000 Scripps Howard Foundation Scholarship

Master’s student Taylor Nakagawa looks forward to taking his passion for immersive journalism a step further as the winner of a 2017 Scripps Howard Foundation scholarship. Virtual Reality and 360 Journalism Provide Framework for Summer Project at The Associated Press Columbia, Mo. (May 8, 2017) — A Missouri School of Journalism graduate student will work … Continued

Missouri Students, Faculty Win Fellowships to Health Journalism Conference

Award-Winning Journalists, Medical Researchers, Top Clinicians and Other Health Professionals Addressed the Group Orlando, Fla. (May 5, 2017) — Among the nearly 700 attendees at Health Journalism 2017 held recently in Orlando, Florida, were 10 Missouri School of Journalism students, four faculty members and three on-campus news professionals. Twelve were on fellowships to the annual … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism Earns National Accreditation

Missouri is one of just a handful of schools that has been continuously accredited since the voluntary self-assessment and external review process began in the late 1940s. Only 113 journalism and mass communication programs in the U.S. are accredited. The Report Noted ‘the School Continues to Be One of the Best Programs in the Country’ … Continued

Will Jarvis Chosen for American Society of Magazine Editors Internship Program

Junior Will Jarvis has been selected for the summer 2017 American Society of Magazine Editors internship program. He Will Work at Advertising Age in New York This Summer By Yue Tang Columbia, Mo. (May 3, 2017) — Missouri School of Journalism junior Will Jarvis has been selected for the summer 2017 American Society of Magazine … Continued

New ‘Inside Sports’ Feature Is Available on Twitter, Blog and Video

Missouri sophomore Rylee Pierce slides into home as a Southeast Missouri State University catcher jumps out of the way during game one of a double-header at Mizzou Stadium on Tuesday, April 18, 2017. Pierce hit her seventh home run in the bottom of the third inning in game one. Photo: Monique Woo, junior in photojournalism, … Continued

Junior Tashan Reed Wins $5,000 David Lipman Scholarship Award

Junior Tashan Reed is currently serving as a sports beat reporter at the Columbia Missourian. Prize Given by the Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis/St. Louis Post Dispatch in Honor of Missouri Journalism Alumnus By Yue Tang Columbia, Mo. (April 12, 2017) — Missouri School of Journalism junior Tashan Reed has been selected as the … Continued