Alexis Allison Named the 2018 Winner of the Atwater Prize for Writing

Current master’s student and reporter for the Columbia Missourian Alexis Allison, winner of the 2018 James and Patricia Atwater Memorial Writing Prize. Photo: Jo De Castro. Master’s Student’s Stories Aim to Connect People from Disparate Backgrounds, Beliefs Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 30, 2018) — Graduate student Alexis Allison is the winner of the 2018 James and … Continued

Top Awards and Numerous Paper Presentations Among Missouri’s Highlights at Upcoming Academic Conference

The annual Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication convention will be held in Washington, D.C., Aug. 6-9. Missouri Journalism Dean David Kurpius will host a reception for convention-goers from 7-8:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 8, in room W107, at the Renaissance Hotel Downtown. The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Convention … Continued

Lauren Puckett Wins the 2018 Don Romero Prize for Magazine Writing

Master’s student Lauren Puckett, asked to write a story about the making of tamales at a local eatery, ended up turning her assignment into a community-engagement piece. Puckett is this year’s winner of the Don Romero Prize for Magazine Writing. Master’s Student Finds Herself Drawn to Community Engagement, Even When Assigned to Write about Food … Continued

Special Public Exhibit Showcases Work of Graduating Photojournalism Students

Graduating photojournalism students were responsible for the entire “Parting Shots 7” exhibit, an annual gallery show which recognizes some of the best work by Missouri students. Planning and mounting the exhibit included editing, toning and printing the selected images. ‘Parting Shots’ Exhibit Now in McDougall Center Gallery in Lee Hills Hall through Sept. 17 By … Continued

4 Missouri Journalism Students Win Dow Jones News Fund Internships

Missouri Journalism recipients of the prestigious Dow Jones News Fund internships are (clockwise from top-left) seniors Nancy Coleman, Kathryn Hardison, Tess Vrbin and alumna Dariya Tsyrenzhapova, BJ ’10, MA ’18. The Program Includes a Paid Summer Internship and $1,000 Scholarship for Returning Students Columbia, Mo. (May 9, 2018) — Four Missouri School of Journalism students … Continued

School to Recognize 544 Candidates at May Graduation Ceremony

The alumnus speaker for spring commencement will be Jon Cook, BJ ’93, global CEO of VML. The master of ceremonies will be Chelsea Haynes from Houston, top right, and the student speaker will be Cristen Milliner from Chicago. The Program Will Begin at 5:30 p.m., Sunday, May 13, at Hearnes Center Columbia, Mo. (May 1, … Continued

Associate Professor Tim Vos Elected to AEJMC Leadership Position

Tim Vos, elected to serve as vice president of AEJMC, is the Wallace Turner Memorial Faculty Fellow and chair of the journalism studies faculty. He Will Serve as Vice President; Become President in 2020 Columbia, Mo. (April 30, 2018) — Associate Professor Tim Vos has been elected to serve as Vice President of the Association … Continued

Master’s Student Receives Scholar Award from the Overseas Press Club Foundation

Missouri master’s student Suman Naishadham receives the H.L. Stevenson Fellowship from Steve Swanson, OPC Foundation treasurer, at the Yale Club in New York City. Suman Naishadham Honored at NYC Luncheon, Reception at Reuters By Jane Reilly Overseas Press Club of America New York City (March 21, 2018) — Suman Naishadham, a journalism graduate student at … Continued

Master’s Student Carolina Vargas Receives $5,000 Carol Loomis Scholarship for Business Reporting

Master’s student Carolina Vargas is the recipient of the $5,000 Carol Loomis Scholarship for Business Reporting for 2017. Vargas Interned for Bloomberg BNA While Studying Business Reporting Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 21, 2017) — Carolina Vargas is the recipient of the $5,000 Carol Loomis Scholarship for Business Reporting for 2017. Vargas is a second-year master’s student … Continued