Walter Williams Society Welcomes New Members

Print this page

Guests at the Walter Williams Society dinner enjoy remarks by Chancellor Brady Deaton who praised Dean Mills and his leadership of the School.

Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 19, 2004) — Two new couples were inducted into the Walter Williams Society at its second dinner on Nov. 5 at the Reynolds Alumni Center on the University of Missouri-Columbia campus. The Society was founded in 2002 to recognize the generosity of private philanthropy to the School.

Joy Spencer Johnson, BJ ’48, and her husband Kenneth, and George Kennedy, BJ ’64, PhD ’78, and his wife Robin joined the more than 40 other donors at the dinner.

Thanking the guests and updating them on activities at the School were Chancellor Brady Deaton and Dean Dean Mills. Mills introduced President of the Board of Curators, Mary James, and President of the MU Alumni Association, Doug Crews, BJ ’73.

From left: Anne Deaton, Roger Fidler, inaugural Reynolds Institute Fellow, and Jim Sterling, BJ ’65, Community Newspaper Management Chair, enjoy themselves at the Walter Williams Society dinner.

John Rawlings, BJ ’73, and MA ’77, editorial director of The Sporting News and Journalism School Capital Campaign Committee member, reminisces with George Kennedy, BJ ’64, PhD ‘ 78 and Pam Johnson, BJ ’69, at the Walter Williams Society dinner.

Pam Johnson, BJ ’69, the newly appointed executive director of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute, and Roger Fidler, the Institute’s inaugural Fellow, were introduced. Fidler is launching the world’s first live digital newspaper edition through the school’s community daily, the Columbia Missourian, as his Fellow’s project.

For information about the Walter Williams Society, please visit the School of Journalism page on the Giving to Mizzou website.

Nov 19, 2004

Site Directory