Two Journalism Professors Win Regional Edward R. Murrow Award

Columbia, Mo. (April 5, 2006) — The work of two Missouri School of Journalism professors has earned KOMU one of broadcast journalism’s highest awards. KOMU is the only University-owned network affiliate in the United States that uses its newsroom as a working lab for broadcast news students. Sarah Hill, KOMU anchor, reporter and adjunct professor, and Gary Grigsby, … Continued

Missouri Photojournalism Students Win Pictures of the Year International Awards

By Shawn Brouwer Columbia, Mo. (April 4, 2006) — The work of more than 25 Columbia Missourian photo editors and staff photographers and a recent Missouri School of Journalism student were among the top winners at the 63rd annual Pictures of the Year International (POYi) contest. Considered one of the world’s largest and most prestigious photojournalism contests, POYi judges viewed … Continued

Master’s Students Receive International Recognition for Excellence in Visual Journalism

By Ana Adi Columbia, Mo. (April 4, 2006) — Work produced by students for the Columbia Missourian has received international recognition for excellence in visual journalism by the Society of News Design for the second consecutive year. Robbie Ketcham Reuben Stern Two information graphics created by master’s students Robbie Ketcham and Reuben Stern won an Award of Excellence in the … Continued

Live from J-School: Institute Construction

Larger View Construction site of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute; an east view from the roof of Gannett Hall. Getting an “Axis Media Control” Error Message? The simplest fix is to use a different Web browser (Safari, Netscape, Mozilla, Firefox). To fix this error, common to the Internet Explorer Web browser for Windows, try the … Continued

Graduate Student Wins Overseas Press Club Foundation Scholarship

By Rachel Dennis Columbia, Mo. (March 3, 2006) — Missouri School of Journalism graduate student Michelle Loyalka has been awarded a scholarship worth $2,000 by the Overseas Press Club Foundation. Loyalka was among 12 journalism students from around the country to be selected from more than 175 applicants. Loyalka’s winning essay described the startling psychological impact of … Continued

Alejandro Junco de la Vega, El Norte Publisher, to Receive Missouri Honor Medal

Columbia, Mo. (March 3, 2006) — Alejandro Junco de la Vega, the publisher of El Norte in Mexico, will receive the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism for his courageous leadership in reforming journalism in that country. Junco will present his Master Class on “Civic Journalism: A Different Approach” from 2-2:50 p.m., on Tuesday, March 7, in … Continued

Two Missouri Graduate Students Receive Health Journalism Fellowships

By Rachel Dennis Columbia, Mo. (Feb. 27, 2006) — Missouri School of Journalism graduate students Natalie Fieleke and Leslie Yingling are among the 20 recipients of the 2006 AHCJ-Missouri Health Journalism Fellowships. Natalie Fieleke Leslie Yingling The Association of Health Care Journalists, which moved to the Missouri School of Journalism last summer, granted the fellowships to … Continued

BBDO Managing Director to Deliver Raymond M. Solomon Memorial Lecture

By Katie Costello Columbia, Mo. (Feb. 13, 2006) — Nancy Hill, executive vice president and managing director of BBDO New York, will be the 2006 Raymond M. Solomon Memorial Lecture speaker. Her talk will begin at 5:30 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 16, in Fisher Auditorium. Photos from Presentation Added Feb. 17, 2006 BBDO Managing Director Nancy Hill … Continued

Two Journalism Students Win Hearst Writing Awards

By Rachel Dennis Columbia, Mo. (Feb. 6, 2006) — Missouri School of Journalism student Dusty Luthy and recent graduate Elspeth Reeve are among the top 20 winners in the in-depth writing competition for the 2005-2006 Hearst Journalism Awards. Luthy won seventh place in the competition; Reeve tied for twentieth place. Dusty Luthy Elspeth Reeve Luthy, a junior … Continued