Kristen Hare Wins Sifford Prize for Journalism

Columbia, Mo. (Jan. 10, 2005) — Kristen Hare of the St. Joseph (Mo.) News-Press is the latest winner of the Darrell Sifford Memorial Prize in Journalism. Hare is the youngest winner (26 years old) ever in the 10-year-old contest and is from the smallest newspaper (circ. 39,500) ever to boast a winner in the annual writing contest. Hare, … Continued

Students Capture Graphic Awards in AP Contest

Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 22, 2004) — Missourian Journalism students captured three of the top four prizes in the graphics division of the 2004 Associated Press Missouri-Kansas contest. The results were announced at the annual meeting of publishers and editors of Missouri and Kansas AP member newspapers. The winning graphics competed against 19 other entries. They originally … Continued

Twelve Missouri Journalism Students Win Dow Jones Editing Internships

Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 15, 2004) — Twelve Missouri Journalism students have been selected for the prestigious 2005 Dow Jones Newspaper Fund summer internships in business reporting, newspaper copy editing and sports copy editing. The students were among the approximately 100 picked from an applicant pool of more than 500. Each will receive pre-internship training and … Continued

Missouri Student Wins Hearst Journalism Award

Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 30, 2004) –Missouri School of Journalism student Megan Alexander was among the winners in the 45th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program. A total of 105 students from 58 universities and colleges participated in the first Hearst competition of this academic year. The School won the overall intercollegiate competition in … Continued

Fidler Named to Hall of Achievement at University of Oregon

Eugene, Ore. (Oct. 21, 2004) — Roger Fidler has been inducted into the Hall of Achievement by the School of Journalism and Communication at the University of Oregon. Fidler is the inaugural Visiting Fellow of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute at the Missouri School of Journalism. He plans to launch the world’s first live … Continued

McKean Receives MU Teaching with Technology Award

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 4, 2004) — Mike McKean, an associate professor in the broadcast news department, has been selected as one of the recipients for the new 2004 Innovator Awards for Advancing Teaching with Technology. This award provides special recognition for faculty who have exhibited a broader college or campus impact on the effective use … Continued

Journalism Graduate Students Receive NNAF Awards

Columbia, Mo. (Sept. 23, 2004) — Two Missouri School of Journalism graduate students were the first to be designated as National Newspaper Association Foundation Alan Cruikshank Scholars during the organization’s 118th annual convention in Denver. Kimberlee Belcher and Shannan Wheaton were on hand at the convention to meet the man in whose name the award was named. … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism Presents 2004 Honor Medals

Columbia, Mo. (Sept. 20, 2004) — The Missouri School of Journalism will present the 2004 Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism to six individuals and one news magazine. The Missouri School of Journalism has awarded the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism annually since 1930. More than 425 distinguished journalists, advertising … Continued

Columbia Missourian Nabs 18 State Awards in Newspaper Contest

By Jacob Luecke Columbia, Mo. (Sept. 14, 2004) — The Columbia Missourian nabbed 18 awards in this year’s Missouri Press Association Better Newspaper Contest. Distributed throughout Columbia and the surrounding region, the Columbia Missourian is the working newspaper lab for Missouri School of Journalism students in news-editorial, design, information graphics and photojournalism. The Missourian won first place … Continued