Two Journalism Students to Participate in Hearst National Broadcast Championship

Columbia, Mo. (April 26, 2004) — Two Missouri School of Journalism students are among the top five national finalists in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program. Broadcast news seniors Knez Walker and Katie Piper have been selected to participate in the National Broadcast Championship in TV in San Francisco in May. This is … Continued

Missouri Team Places First at Midwest Model European Union Conference

Columbia, Mo. (April 26, 2004) — A team of students from the Missouri School of Journalism placed first at the recent Midwest Model European Union Conference held at Indiana University – Purdue University in Indianapolis. This is the third time that Missouri has won the top spot in as many years. During the two-day competition students … Continued

KBIA Newsroom Wins Two Edward R. Murrow Awards from RTNDA

Columbia, Mo. (April 20, 2004) — KBIA recently won two Edward R. Murrow awards from the Radio-Television News Director Association (RTNDA). The Murrow Awards honor outstanding achievements in electronic journalism. KBIA is a National Public Radio member station and is owned and operated by the Missouri School of Journalism. The station received the regional award for Best … Continued

Journalism Student Wins National Design Contest

Columbia, Mo. (April 18, 2004) — An original sketch of a design concept for the 2004 Dooney & Bourke It Bag line won Missouri School of Journalism junior Camille Styles a trip to New York and Florence and Milan, Italy. Styles, of Dallas, is studying Strategic Communications at the School. She was one of eight … Continued

Two Missourian Reporters Win Second Place in Missouri AP Managing Editors Contest

Columbia, Mo. (April 12, 2004) –– Columbia Missourian reporters Bryan Clark and Pat Healy have received second-place finishes in the Missouri Associated Press Managing Editors News Writing Contest. The newspaper is the working lab for students in news-editorial, design, information graphics and photojournalism. Clark, a senior news-editorial student from West Chester, Ohio, placed in the sports feature … Continued

Brian Storm to Serve as Professional in Residence

Columbia, Mo. (April 9, 2004) — Brian Storm, MA ’97, vice president of news, multimedia and assignment services for Corbis, will serve as a Professional in Residence at the Missouri School of Journalism. He will present numerous lectures and information-sharing sessions on the University of Missouri campus on April 15-19. Storm joined Corbis, the digital … Continued

J-School Grad Garners Literacy Award

Columbia, Mo. (April 9, 2004) — Maggie Rotermund, BJ ’02, won first place in the Arkansas Associated Press Managing Editors feature award contest in the 25,000 and under circulation category for her story in The Baxter Bulletin in Mountain Home, Ark. The same piece earlier won first place in feature writing in the 2003 Southern … Continued

Graduate Student Receives Honorable Mention in National Writing Contest

Columbia, Mo. (April 8, 2004) — Master’s student Jeff Oliver received honorable mention in the non-fiction category in this year’s The Atlantic Monthly Student Writing Contest. His name, along with the other winners, will appear in the April edition of that magazine. Oliver’s submission, “Not So Sick as She Was Troubled,” highlighted his family’s history, … Continued

Journalism Alumna Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Columbia, Mo. (April 5, 2004) — Elizabeth Llorente, BJ ’84, recently received the 2004 Career Achievement Award for Print Journalists for her work in race and ethnicity from Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. The award recognizes a variety of contributions that Llorente has made to the field of journalism, including a recent series, “Diverse … Continued

Journalism Student Reels in Dream Job on ESPN

By Justin Jarrett Columbia Missourian Columbia, Mo. (March 29, 2004) — Dream job. Check. New car. Check. College diploma. Not quite yet. Before he walks across the stage at MU in May, Mike Hall landed just about everything he could have hoped to gain with his pending journalism degree. Hall earned a one-year contract as … Continued