Journalism Student Participates in McNair Scholars Program

By Madison McGinnis MU News Bureau Columbia, Mo. (May 10, 2005) — Karen Mitchell, a senior in the Missouri School of Journalism, recently participated in the McNair Scholars program at the University of Missouri-Columbia. The program, named for the NASA mission specialist who died in the Challenger space shuttle accident in January 1986, prepares talented … Continued

Four Missouri School of Journalism Minority Students Awarded Scholarship from Wal-Mart

Columbia, Mo. (April 25, 2005) — Four outstanding minority Missouri School of Journalism students received a $2,500 scholarship from Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. They are Heather Apodaca, Yolanda Coleman, Brenda Escobar and Patrick Nagle. The Missouri School of Journalism is one of 10 select journalism programs nationwide to receive $50,000 from Wal-Mart for minority scholarships. The … Continued

First Tina Hills Fellow Wins Overseas Press Club Foundation Scholarship

Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 15, 2004) — Marina Walker, an award-winning journalist from Mendoza, Argentina, and the School’s first Tina Hills Fellow, has been awarded a scholarship worth $2,000 by the Overseas Press Club Foundation. Walker was one of only 12 selected from a pool of 175 applicants from 60 different colleges and universities. Walker’s winning … Continued

MA Student Named 2004 David Kaplan Memorial Fellow at ABC News in D.C.

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 27, 2004) — Master’s student Ross Todd is the 2004 recipient of the David Kaplan Memorial Fellowship, which is awarded each year to one Missouri graduate student who specializes in broadcast producing. Todd will be the thirteenth David Kaplan Fellow. David Kaplan was a producer for Sam Donaldson at ABC News when … Continued

Journalism Graduate Students Receive NNAF Awards

Columbia, Mo. (Sept. 23, 2004) — Two Missouri School of Journalism graduate students were the first to be designated as National Newspaper Association Foundation Alan Cruikshank Scholars during the organization’s 118th annual convention in Denver. Kimberlee Belcher and Shannan Wheaton were on hand at the convention to meet the man in whose name the award was named. … Continued

Wal-Mart Provides School with $50,000 for Minority Scholarships

Missouri One of 10 Journalism Programs Selected Nationwide Columbia, Mo. (Aug. 9, 2004) — The Missouri School of Journalism is one of 10 select journalism programs nationwide to receive $50,000 for minority scholarships from Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. The universities were selected based on the quality of their journalism programs and student demographics. The three-year scholarship program … Continued

MU Journalism Student Wins $10,000 Top Ten Scholarship

Columbia, Mo. (June 16, 2003) — Journalism student Kimberly Monet Adams is a recipient of one of the $10,000 Top Ten Scholarships awarded by the Scripps Howard Foundation. The St. Louis native is a dual major in broadcast news journalism and political science. The Top Ten Scholarship is an award given to the 10 most … Continued

Two Students Win Overseas Press Club Foundation Scholarships

Columbia, Mo. (Feb. 12, 2003) — Two master’s degree students from the Missouri School of Journalism have been awarded scholarships worth $2,000 by the Overseas Press Club Foundation. Kristy Siegfried and Jason McLure were among 11 journalism students from around the country to be selected from over 200 entries. The Overseas Press Club (OPC) is … Continued

Nueva Beca para Periodistas Latinoamericanos

Columbia, Mo. (Jan. 15, 2003) — Nos da gran placer anunciar que la Escuela de Periodismo de la Universidad de Missouri está ofreciendo la beca Tina Hills para periodistas de Latinoamérica que tengan interés en obtener una maestría o un doctorado en la facultad de periodismo más antigua del mundo. Esta beca es parte de … Continued