Kappa Tau Alpha Initates 41 Students at Spring Commencement

Columbia, Mo. (May 25, 2006) — Forty-one students were inducted into Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA), the national honor society for journalism and mass communication, at the May 12 graduation ceremony in Mizzou Arena.

To be a member of KTA, students must be among the top 10 percent of their graduating class and show excellence in academic work. Both graduate and undergraduate students are eligible for the honor.

“To be a journalism student means one has already accomplished so much, given how selective the School is. To rank among the top 10 percent of that talented group is a really remarkable achievement,” said Stephanie Craft, an associate professor and the chapter adviser for Kappa Tau Alpha.

Noted Rachel Dennis, BJ ’06, and KTA inductee, “Induction into the honor society is a great reward for all of the hours spent in class and at the library studying.”

Founded at the Missouri School of Journalism in 1910, KTA is the seventh-oldest national honor society and recognizes academic excellence and promotes scholarship. Kappa Tau Alpha means, “The Truth Will Prevail,” and its Greek letters stand for Knowledge, Truth, and Accuracy — words that encapsulate the mission of the society.

Kappa Tau Alpha 2006 Initiates

Doctor of Philosophy

  • Mugur Geana
  • Scott Reinardy

Master of Arts

  • Lora England
  • Katy June-Friesen
  • Cassandra Fuerst
  • Brian Hamman
  • Renata Johnson
  • Randolph Ketcham
  • Anastasia Masurat
  • Kathryn Moser
  • Jennifer Myers
  • Kjerstin Thorson
  • Andrew Zahler
  • Qiujun Zhou

Bachelor of Journalism

  • Julie Ashenfelter
  • Lindy Bavolek
  • Rachel Dennis
  • Alexandria Esterly
  • Christine Feeley
  • Nicole Fritz
  • Rachel Hill
  • Jacqueline Janus
  • Andrea Latta
  • Scott Lichtenauer
  • Jennifer Loehr
  • Sherri McMahon
  • Brandt Merritt
  • Jade Mingus
  • Jamie Pabst
  • Andrew Parker
  • D’Arcy Rapp
  • Jessica Rinne
  • Hayley Salvo
  • Rachel Schaff
  • Katherine Schweitzer
  • Allison Sebolt
  • Tara Stepanek
  • Eric Syverson
  • Jessica Thornsberry
  • Bradley Tregnago
  • Cory Walton

Updated: April 9, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All