Missouri School of Journalism Students Are Top Winners in National Hearst TV News Competition

Brynne Whittaker Takes Fourth, Qualifies for Semi-Finals; Matt Evans Places Ninth San Francisco (Dec. 19, 2013) — Brynne Whittaker and Matt Evans are top winners in the Television News competition of the 54th annual Journalism Awards Program sponsored by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. Both are radio-television journalism majors at the Missouri School of Journalism. … Continued

In-depth Features by Missouri School of Journalism Student Wins First Place in Hearst Radio News and Features Competition

Lukas Udstuen Receives $2,600 Award for His Top Entry in the National Contest San Francisco (Dec. 19, 2013) — Two in-depth radio features by Lukas Udstuen have won first place in the 54th annual Journalism Awards Program‘s Radio News and Features competition sponsored by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. He receives a $2,600 award for … Continued

News Professionals Select Missouri as the Top J-School in the Country

The ‘Missouri Method’ of Hands-On, Real-Media Training Cited for No. 1 Ranking Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 17, 2013) — News professionals have selected the Missouri School of Journalism as the top J-school in the country in the 2013 NewsPro–Radio Television Digital News Association Top Journalism Schools poll. “Survey: The Top 25 Journalism Schools – NewsPro’s Survey … Continued

Abbey Sussell and Andrew Wagaman Win Dean’s Award for Enterprise Reporting in Mastering the Method Contest

Their Stories Were Selected from Among 31 Entries Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 17, 2013) — Abbey Sussell and Andrew Wagaman are the winners of the Dean’s Award for enterprise reporting in the Mastering the Method contest at the Missouri School of Journalism. The contest recognizes outstanding work by undergraduates in the areas of broadcast, multimedia, photography … Continued

Bridgit Bowden and Lukas Udstuen Win the Dean’s Award for Radio News and Features

Missouri Journalism Students Submit 22 Entries to This Category of the Mastering the Method Contest   Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 10, 2013) — Stories about veteran programs, demographic shifts in Missouri, education and country line dancing are the winners of the Dean’s Award for radio news and features in the Mastering the Method contest. The work … Continued

Professor Barbara Cochran Interviews Former Vice President Cheney at the National Press Club Book Rap

Washington (Dec. 8, 2013) — Professor Barbara Cochran interviewed former Vice President Dick Cheney and Dr. Jonathan Reiner about their book on Cheney’s health to a packed audience at the National Press Club Book Rap on Dec. 3. “Heart: An American Medical Odyssey” shares Cheney’s personal story of his longtime battle with heart disease. Cochran, … Continued

Missouri Journalism Students Deliver the Ultimate in SEC Championship Game Coverage

Reporting Is Already Underway and Continues Through the Weekend Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 6, 2013) — Beyond the playing field in the Georgia Dome, teams of Missouri School of Journalism students are delivering the ultimate SEC Championship Game coverage. As the Missouri Tigers prepare to face the Auburn Tigers on Saturday, Dec. 7, Columbia Missourian and KOMU-TV … Continued

Missouri School of Journalism to Recognize 135 Students at Dec. 13 Commencement

The Ceremony Will Begin at 3:30 p.m. in Jesse Auditorium Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 6, 2013) — The Missouri School of Journalism will recognize a total of 135 graduates at its commencement ceremony at 3:30 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 13, in Jesse Auditorium. Seating is open, and no tickets are required. Commencement Addresses The text of … Continued