Damon Kiesow Named Knight Chair in Digital Editing and Producing

Columbia, Mo. (June 14, 2018) — Damon Kiesow, a digital media pioneer who specializes in aligning storytelling, innovation and business strategies, has been named the Knight Chair in Digital Editing and Producing at the Missouri School of Journalism. He will begin his new appointment on Aug. 6. Kiesow will work across the School’s news platforms, … Continued

KBIA-FM, KOMU-TV Win 11 Awards from Missouri Broadcasters Association

Retiring Associate Professor Kent Collins Receives MBA President’s Award Lake Ozark, Mo. (June 11, 2018) — KBIA-FM and KOMU-TV were honored with a total of five first-place awards from the Missouri Broadcasters Association on June 2 at The Lodge of Four Seasons. The stations also garnered six certificates of merit, and retiring Associate Professor Kent … Continued

Missouri Undergrads Leverage RJI Fellowships to Help Established Media Outlets ‘Push the Envelope’

News Organizations Gain Access to ‘Innovative, Tech-Savvy Journalism Students’ Columbia, Mo. (June 8, 2018) — Five Missouri School of Journalism seniors will help advance new storytelling initiatives and business practices at leading news organizations as the latest group of RJI Student Innovation Fellows. Their projects will range from creating Snapchat content intended to reach first-time … Continued

Mizzou Students Take Three of Top 10 Spots in Second Annual APSE Contest

Undergraduate Sports Journalists Alec Lewis, Nick Kelly and Peter Baugh Finished Fourth, Eighth and 10th, Respectively Columbia, Mo. (June 11, 2018) — Three Missouri School of Journalism undergraduate sports reporters have placed in the Top 10 of the Associated Press Sports Editors (APSE) competition for work produced between June 1, 2017, and May 10, 2018. … Continued

Margaret Duffy Wins the McIntyre Professorship for Teaching Excellence

The Award Comes with a $10,000 Salary Supplement for Next Academic Year Columbia, Mo. (June 5, 2018) — Professor Margaret Duffy is the 2018 winner of the O.O. McIntyre Professorship at the Missouri School of Journalism. The award recognizes teaching excellence and comes with a $10,000 salary supplement for the 2018-19 academic year. Duffy is … Continued

Ruby Bailey Named Missouri Community Newspaper Management Chair

Columbia, Mo. (June 1, 2018) — A journalist whose reporting has ranged from hyperlocal coverage of Michigan suburbs to the Iraq War and whose editing has spanned the evolution of print and digital editions has been named executive editor of the Columbia Missourian. Ruby L. Bailey, a local news editor at the Sacramento Bee in … Continued

Fellowship Program Honoring Fallen ABC News Journalist Reaches Quarter-Century Mark

David Kaplan Memorial Fellowship Provides Mizzou Students with Opportunity to Gain Hands-On Experience and Mentorship By Jennifer Nelson Columbia, Mo. (June 1, 2018) — For twenty-five years, students from the Missouri School of Journalism have had the opportunity to spend a semester at ABC News in Washington D.C. as a David Kaplan Memorial Fellow. To … Continued