Elizabeth Stephens

Assistant Professor

Columbia Missourian, Journalism Professions

News Editor

316 Lee Hills Hall
Missouri School of Journalism
Columbia, MO 65211-1200

Elizabeth Stephens is the director for community outreach at the Columbia Missourian and an assistant professor on the Journalism Professions faculty. Stephens completed her bachelor’s degree from the Missouri School of Journalism in 2005. She worked at the Columbus (GA) Ledger-Enquirer as a copy editor, designer, business editor and copy desk chief.

She moved to Charlottesville, Va., to work as an editor at SNL Financial, a subscriber-only financial news service. She returned to the Missourian in August 2011 as a Knight fellow and served in that role for two years. After completing her master’s degree at the School in 2014, Stephens joined the Missourian and School’s faculty full time in 2015. In her role as a Missourian news editor, she led a redesign of the Missourian website and managed the print design desk. She moved into her current role in May 2018.

Updated: October 9, 2019