Columbia Missourian Wins 18 Associated Press Media Editors Awards

Digital-First Community Newspaper Serves as Real-World Learning Environment for J-School Students Kansas City (Feb. 1, 2019) — The Columbia Missourian has won 18 awards in the 2018 Associated Press Media Editors Newspaper Contest, including the General Excellence award for Division II, newspapers with a weekly circulation of 25,000-150,000, recognizing the newspaper with the most individual … Continued

NewsPro Names Associate Professor Mark Horvit a 2019 Noteworthy Journalism Educator

Columbia, Mo. (Jan. 28, 2019) — Missouri School of Journalism Associate Professor Mark Horvit was named one of 10 journalism’s top educators in the nation for his dedication to investigative journalism. Crain’s NewsPro named Horvit a 2019 Noteworthy Journalism Educator. The winners were nominated by readers and members of the Radio Television Digital News Association, … Continued

Senior Makayla Looney Awarded Inaugural KMBC Larry Moore Journalism Scholarship

Award Honors J-School Alumnus Moore’s Long Career at Kansas City ABC Affiliate Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 12, 2018) — Missouri School of Journalism senior Makayla Looney has received the first KMBC Larry Moore Journalism Scholarship. She will receive a $1,000 scholarship for the Spring 2019 semester. As Looney enters her final semester as a broadcast journalism … Continued

Junior Claire Hassler Named Inaugural Recipient of $11,000 Jeanee von Essen Scholarship in International Journalism

Scholarship Honors the Groundbreaking Work of J-School Alumna Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 11, 2018) — Missouri School of Journalism junior Claire Hassler is the inaugural recipient of the Jeanee von Essen Scholarship in International Journalism. Hassler will receive $11,000 for the spring 2019 semester. Hassler, from Eden Prairie, Minn., is studying science, health and environmental convergence … Continued

Senior Kaitlin Washburn Receives $1,000 Jane Geisse Scholarship in Investigative Reporting

Scholarship Recognizes Reporters Dedicated to Bringing Light to Issues Impacting the Public Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 6, 2018) — Missouri School of Journalism senior Kaitlin Washburn has received the Jane Geisse Scholarship in Investigative Reporting. She will receive a $1,000 scholarship. In her time as a J-School student, Washburn has brought transparency to campaign finances, exposed flaws … Continued

Alexis Allison Named the 2018 Winner of the Atwater Prize for Writing

Master’s Student’s Stories Aim to Connect People from Disparate Backgrounds, Beliefs Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 30, 2018) — Graduate student Alexis Allison is the winner of the 2018 James and Patricia Atwater Memorial Writing Prize. The award provides a $500 stipend to one elite writing student each year. Allison submitted three articles that were published in … Continued

Senior Claire Mitzel Awarded $2,500 Homer L. Hall Scholarship

The Scholarship Honors a Former Missouri High School Newspaper Adviser Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 20, 2018) — Missouri School of Journalism senior Claire Mitzel has been named the 2019 recipient of the Homer L. Hall Scholarship. The Roanoke, Virginia, native has spent the past two years working as an assistant city editor and reporter for the … Continued

Moore Foundation Awards $500,000-Plus Grant to Support Health Journalism

Association of Health Care Journalists Professional Organization is Headquartered at Missouri Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 5, 2018) — The Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism, the educational arm of the Association of Health Care Journalists, has been awarded a grant of more than half a million dollars to strengthen the knowledge and skills of health … Continued

Stacey Woelfel to Be Honored by Mizzou Alumni Association

Annual MAA Recognition Celebrates Outstanding Service and Professional Accomplishments Columbia, Mo. (Nov. 1, 2018) — The Mizzou Alumni Association (MAA) will honor 14 outstanding faculty and alumni Nov. 9 at its 51st annual Faculty-Alumni Awards Ceremony in the Reynolds Alumni Center. The Distinguished Service Award, the Distinguished Faculty Award and 12 Faculty-Alumni Awards will be … Continued