LaDora Rogers Named Recipient of the School of Journalism Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award

Office Support Assistant LaDora Rogers is the recipient of the 2019 Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award, given annually in recognition of a Missouri Journalism staff person who exhibits high levels of professionalism, initiative and creativity. Columbia, Mo. (May 13, 2019) — LaDora Rogers, office support assistant at the Missouri School of Journalism, is the recipient … Continued

School of Journalism Undergraduate Academic Adviser Shawn Wallace Wins 2019 Catalyst Award

Missouri Journalism undergraduate academic adviser Shawn Wallace has won the University of Missouri’s LGBTQ Resource Center’s Catalyst Award. Columbia, Mo. (May 8, 2019) — Shawn Wallace, undergraduate academic adviser, has received the University of Missouri‘s LGBTQ Resource Center’s Catalyst Award. Established in 1998, Catalyst Awards is an annual event aimed at bringing together LGBTQ activists, … Continued

Professor Suzette Heiman Named 2019 MJEA Friend of Scholastic Journalism

In recognition of her efforts supporting scholastic journalism for high school students across the state, the Missouri Journalism Education Association has named Professor Suzette Heiman as the recipient of its Friend of Scholastic Journalism Award. Heiman, center, is flanked by Missouri Journalism Dean David Kurpius and MJEA member Michelle Kennedy, publications adviser at Grain Valley … Continued

Associate Professor Tim Vos Awarded 2019 MU Graduate Faculty Mentor Award

Associate Professor Tim P. Vos has won the prestigious MU Graduate Faculty Mentor Award, which includes a $1,500 honorarium and is given in recognition of the outstanding mentoring relationships a faculty adviser has developed with graduate students. Award Recognizes Outstanding Mentoring Relationships an Adviser Develops with Graduate Students Columbia, Mo. (May 3, 2019) — Tim … Continued

KBIA-FM, KOMU-TV Win 8 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Network affiliates – and working laboratories for Missouri Journalism students – KBIA-FM and KOMU-TV were awarded a total of eight prestigious Edward R. Murrow Awards by the Radio and Television Digital News Association, recognizing the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world. The Radio and Television Digital News … Continued

15 Journalism Students, 1 Professor Inducted into Secret Societies during Annual Tap Day

Members of Mizzou’s secret societies are “tapped” (chosen) based on academic performance, extracurricular activities, scholarship, leadership and service. Top row, left to right: Emily Aiken, Megan Brenneke, Mitchell Davis, Shoshana Dubnow, Maddie Dunkman. Middle row: Holly Enowski, Simone Esters, Mel Frieders, Catherine Hoffman, Jasmine-Kay Johnson. Bottom row: Blythe Nebeker, Jeannette Porter, John Pottebaum, Matt Schmittdiel. … Continued