LaDora Rogers Named Recipient of the School of Journalism Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award

LaDora Rogers

Office Support Assistant LaDora Rogers is the recipient of the 2019 Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award, given annually in recognition of a Missouri Journalism staff person who exhibits high levels of professionalism, initiative and creativity.

Columbia, Mo. (May 13, 2019) — LaDora Rogers, office support assistant at the Missouri School of Journalism, is the recipient of the 2019 Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award. She was named during a recognition ceremony on May 10 in the Palmer Room at the School’s Reynolds Journalism Institute. Missouri School of Journalism Dean David Kurpius presented Rogers with a plaque and a $500 award.

Each year, this award is presented to a staff person who exhibits high levels of professionalism, initiative and creativity. Other selection criteria include helpfulness, innovative thinking and a commitment to the School and the University.

Many throughout the School wrote nomination letters praising Roger’s attention to detail, patience, and work knowledge.

  • “Dora’s calming nature and attention to detail in terms of paperwork and other important issues related to payroll is unparalleled. Throughout my years at the School of Journalism, Dora has consistently served with grace, an unspeakable calm and proficiency.”
  • “I have never worked with a person who gives as much attention to details as she does. She is generous with her time and knowledge to many of us in the School of Journalism.”
  • “I know that no matter what the problem is, I can go to her and she will do anything she can to solve it.”

The tribute, formerly known as the Pat on the Back Award, was renamed in 2009 in honor of Amy Lenk, who retired in 2009 after 35 years of service with the School. The recognition is underwritten by the Hogle School of Journalism Endowment Fund, created by a gift from the estate of Wilma L. Hogle (BJ ’46).

Others nominated for the award were:

  • Amy Bruer, academic adviser
  • Joe Collins, system support, the Journalism School
  • Christi Dawson, academic adviser
  • Kathleen Duncan, senior editor, Reynolds Journalism Institute
  • Kathy Hodges, graduate school academic adviser
  • Amy Johnson, business support specialist, IRE
  • Stephen Kelley, system support, The Columbia Missourian
  • Kara Lehenbauer, office support assistant
  • Kimberly McCollum, office support assistant
  • Bruce Moore, manager CSM operations, The Columbia Missourian
  • Robin Nichols, senior communications coordinator
  • Pete Ozias, manager student support services
  • Janet Sievel, academic adviser
  • Shawn Wallace, academic adviser

Several full-time staff members and faculty also were recognized for continuous service anniversaries with the University of Missouri. Staff years of recognition:

5 Years

  • Joshua Brown, academic adviser
  • Melody Cook, office support assistant, The Columbia Missourian
  • Sarah Hutchins, editor, IRE
  • Jason McLure, senior editor, Global Journalist

10 Years

  • Tami Custard, student support specialist

15 Years

  • Stephanie Klimstra, senior program support coordinator, IRE

20 Years

  • Kyle Felling, media production director, KBIA-FM
  • Amy Johnston, business support specialist, IRE
  • Warren Mayer, internet administrator

30 Years

  • Darren Hellwege, media producer, KBIA-FM

Faculty years of service recognition:

5 Years

10 Years

15 Years

20 Years

Updated: November 10, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All