Ernest Zhang Named Recipient of the Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award

David Kurpius and Ernest Zhang

Faculty and staff cited Ernest Zhang as a dedicated, creative person who is committed to promoting the Missouri School of Journalism.

Nominators Cited His Dedication and Professionalism

Columbia, Mo. (May 10, 2018) — Ernest Zhang, director of China Programs for the Missouri School of Journalism, is the 2018 winner of the Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award. He was named during a recognition ceremony on May 4 in the Palmer Room at the Reynolds Journalism Institute. Missouri School of Journalism Dean David Kurpius presented Zhang with a plaque and a $500 award.

Each year, this award is presented to a staff person who exhibits high levels of professionalism, initiative and creativity. Other selection criteria include helpfulness, innovative thinking and a commitment to the School and the University.

Many throughout the School wrote nomination letters, calling Zhang a dedicated, creative person who is committed to promoting the School of Journalism. Others commented on his professionalism and attention to detail, especially as it relates to the various schedules he arranges and manages in his role as director of the School’s China programs.

Others nominated for the award were:

The tribute, formerly the Pat on the Back Award, was renamed in 2009 in honor of Amy Lenk, who retired in 2009 after 35 years of service with the School. The recognition is underwritten by the Hogle School of Journalism Endowment Fund, created by a gift from the estate of Wilma L. Hogle (BJ ’46).

Several full-time staff members also were recognized for continuous service anniversaries with the University of Missouri:

5 Years

  • Adelle Banks
  • Nathaniel Brown
  • Natalie Hampton
  • Sheri Hines
  • Denise Malan
  • Tiffany McCallen
  • Brian Pellot
  • Ron Ribiat
  • Amy Schiska
  • Yonat Shimron
  • Michael Stacy
  • Jennifer Trom
  • Ji Young Won
  • Li Yang

10 Years

  • Cheri Cherry
  • Bryan Chester
  • Carolyn Jackson
  • Dale Musser

15 Years

  • Natalie Feibish

30 Years

  • John Meyer

Updated: November 4, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All