Cheryl Spang Named Recipient of the Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award

Dack and Cheryl Spang

Cheryl Spang, winner of the 2107 recipient of the Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award, is joined by her husband Dack at the reception. Spang serves as the School’s business manager.

Nominators Cited Her Work Ethic, Knowledge and Professionalism

Columbia, Mo. (May 18, 2017) — Cheryl Spang, business manager for the Missouri School of Journalism, is the 2017 winner of the Amy Lenk Staff Excellence Award. She was named during a recognition ceremony on May 12 in the Fred W. Smith Forum at the Reynolds Journalism Institute. Missouri School of Journalism Dean David Kurpius presented Spang with a plaque and a $500 award.

The tribute, formerly the Pat on the Back Award, was renamed in 2009 in honor of Amy Lenk, who retired in 2009 after 35 years of service with the School.

Each year this award is presented to a staff person who exhibits high levels of professionalism, initiative and creativity. Other selection criteria include helpfulness, innovative thinking and a commitment to the School and the University.

Many throughout the School wrote nomination letters, calling Spang a tireless and under-appreciated champion for the School of Journalism. Others commented on her eye toward the greater good, top-notch ethical standards and a work ethic that is exhausting to witness.

Others nominated for the award were:

  • Becky Acton, fiscal analyst, Reynolds Journalism Institute
  • Kara Lehenbauer, office support assistant, Reynolds Journalism Institute
  • Laura Redfield-Jacobs, administrative assistant, Reynolds Journalism Institute
  • Janet Sievel, academic adviser
  • Alan Toigo, assistant to the associate dean for undergraduate studies
  • Shawn Wallace, academic adviser

Several full-time staff members also were recognized for continuous service anniversaries with the University of Missouri:

5 Years

  • Becky Acton
  • Joe Collins
  • John Cowell
  • Wendy Gustofson
  • Trevor Harris
  • Kristofor Husted
  • Shubhaga Jalisatgi
  • Megan Luther
  • Jennifer Nelson
  • Randy Picht
  • Megan Schumacher

10 Years

  • Kimberly Beamer
  • Christi Dawson
  • Patrick Muck
  • Ted Peterson
  • Roberta Pickerell
  • Cindy Roe
  • Rob Weir

15 Years

  • Pia Christensen
  • Heather Feldman
  • Robin Nichols
  • Brian Steffens
  • Shawn Wallace

20 Years

  • Bruce Moore
  • Nancy Stockett

30 Years

  • Pat Akers

Updated: October 22, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All