Thorson, Duffy Surprised with President’s Award at the Annual Missouri Press Association Convention

Kansas City, Mo. (Oct. 26, 2009) — Missouri Press Association president Vicki S. Russell surprised two Missouri School of Journalism professors with the President’s Award at the group’s recent convention in Kansas City. The MPA President’s Award was established to honor a person or persons who’ve made a special impact on that president.

Margaret Duffy and Esther Thorson
Margaret Duffy (center) and Esther Thorson (right) accept their President’s Award plaques from MPA president Vicki S. Russell.

Esther Thorson and Margaret Duffy were each presented with a plaque inscribed “in deep appreciation to a steadfast supporter of Missouri newspapers, an educator and researcher devoted to the best practices of media management and a friend to the Missouri Press Association.”

Thorson, who serves as the School’s graduate dean, and Duffy, chair of the strategic communication faculty, have conducted extensive research on newspaper reader preferences and business models. They consult with many newspapers and offer suggestions regarding best practices.

“We’re very grateful for this award,” Duffy said. “The Missouri Press Association and its members embody journalistic excellence and community service.”

Russell is the associate publisher of the Columbia (Mo.) Daily Tribune.

Updated: May 6, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All