4 National Winners, 4 National Finalists in the SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards

Indianapolis (May 10, 2010) — Four national winners and four national finalists – Missouri School of Journalism students excelled in the Society of Professional Journalists 2009 Mark of Excellence Awards, recognizing collegiate work published or broadcasted during 2009. This year, student journalists from across the country submitted more than 3,600 entries.

Andrew Astleford Mike Brannen Evan Bush Emily Coppel Adam Falk Lindsey Foat
Chris Hamby Michael Kelly Brandon Smith Brandon Spencer Taryn Wood

Top row, from left: Andrew Astleford, Mike Brannen, Evan Bush, Emily Coppel, Adam Falk, Lindsey Foat. Second row: Chris Hamby, Michael Kelly, Brandon Smith, Brandon Spencer, Taryn Wood.

“Regardless of what else is happening in the industry, college students across the country are continuing to embrace journalism, and these Mark of Excellence winners reflect some of their best work,” SPJ Vice President of Campus Chapter Affairs Neil Ralston said. “These students are excited about journalism, and they understand that a strong press is vital to our nation’s future.”

National Mark of Excellence Award judges choose one national winner in each category and two national finalists (runners-up). Winners and finalists were previously recognized by receiving first place in one of the SPJ’s 12 regional competitions. Each first-place regional winner advanced to the national competition. The student journalists will be recognized Monday, Oct. 4, at the Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon, which occurs during the 2010 SPJ Convention & National Journalism Conference at The Planet Hollywood Hotel in Las Vegas.

The Missouri School of Journalism winners are:

Non-Fiction Magazine Article
National Winner: “Keeper of the Court (Kevin Crane)” by Chris Hamby

Radio Sports Reporting
National Winner: “Tailgaters Ride to Football Games in Style: In the ZouBus” by Brandon Spencer

Sports Writing
National Winner: “Arena of Dreams” by Andrew Astleford

Television Sports Photography
National Winner: “Nasty Nine” by Michael Brannen

Television Sports Reporting
National Finalist: “Fan Rumps” by Michael Kelly

Radio Feature
National Finalist: “Low Pork Prices Hurt Farmers” by Brandon Smith

Radio In-Depth Reporting
National Finalist: “Life After Prison” by Lindsey Foat and Emily Coppel

Online Sports Reporting
National Finalist: “Pregame Playmakers” by Evan Bush, Adam Falk and Taryn Wood

Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

Updated: May 11, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All