Four National Winners and Four National Finalists: Missouri Journalism Work Earns Eight SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards

SPJ Logo

Columbia, Mo. (May 8, 2012) — Four national winners and four national finalists – Missouri School of Journalism students excelled in the Society of Professional Journalists 2011 Mark of Excellence Awards, recognizing collegiate work published or broadcasted during 2011. This year, student journalists from across the country submitted more than 4,000 entries.

Winners and finalists were previously recognized by receiving first place in one of the SPJ’s 12 regional competitions. Each first-place regional winner advanced to the national competition.

Caitie CarterCaitie Carter Ted HartTed Hart Sarah HoffmanSarah Hoffman Eric HolmbergEric Holmberg
Jonah JavadJonah Javad Brian JohnsonBrian Johnson Ileana LlorensIleana Llorens Nicole OranNicole Oran
Brad RacinoBrad Racino Tim RiceTim Rice Shea RollShea Roll Nick SchnelleNick Schnelle
Samantha SonderenSamantha Sonderen Emily SpainEmily Spain Jessica WalshJessica Walsh

First-place national winners will be recognized at the Excellence in Journalism 2012 conference Sept. 20-22 in Fort Lauderdale.

The Missouri journalism winners of the SPJ National Mark of Excellence Awards are:

Non-Fiction Magazine Article
National Winner: “The Secret Life of Mules” by Eric Holmberg, writer; Caitie Carter, editor; Berkley Hudson, writing coach; and Mike Jenner, Vox editorial director

Online News Reporting
National Winner: “Student Veterans” by Ileana Llorens, Nick Schnelle, Mallory Benedict, Dalene Rovenstine, Zoey Larsen, Kayla Alewel, David Cawthon, Ryan Cornell, Amanda Harrison, Ted Hart, Jon Hadusek, Rachel Krause, Nicole Oran, Jessica Walsh, Shea Roll, Samantha Sonderen, Andrew Williams, Deron Dalton and Tim Rice

Television News Photography
National Winner: “Volunteers Send Care Packages to Marines” by Emily Spain

Television Sports Reporting
National Winner: “Striking Chords” by Jonah Javad Mirfendereski

Best Student Magazine
National Finalist: “30 Under 30,” Vox magazine

Feature Writing
National Finalist: “Citizens for Justice” by Brad Racino

General News Reporting
National Finalist: “Small-town Residents Saddened by Prospect of Post Offices Closing” by Sarah Hoffman

Television In-Depth Reporting
National Finalist: “The Price of Parking” by Brian Johnson

Updated: August 15, 2019

Related Stories