Missouri School of Journalism senior Kaitlyn Hoevelmann receives Donald W. Reynolds Scholarship in Business Journalism

Kaitlyn Hoevelmann

Columbia, Mo. (June 22, 2020) — Missouri School of Journalism senior Kaitlyn Hoevelmann is the 2020 recipient of the $2,500 Donald W. Reynolds Scholarship in Business Journalism.

Originally from St. Louis, Hoevelmann is pursuing undergraduate degrees in print and digital journalism and economics. After graduation, she would like to have a career as a business journalist.

“Business journalism combines two of my greatest interests: journalism and economics,” said Hoevelmann. “In order to gain more experience and develop my reporting skills, I aspire to intern at a major news publication. Cost can be a major drawback when searching for internships, and this scholarship will have a positive impact on my education by allowing me to pursue internship opportunities more freely.”

According to Randy Smith, professor and the Donald W. Reynolds Endowed Chair of Business Journalism, Hoevelmann is “not only an outstanding student but a thorough reporter. Her work reflects the knowledge that she is getting both in the classroom and at her summer job at the Federal Reserve in St. Louis. She is going to make a real impact in the field, because she sees the big picture in every story.”

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation provided funding for the scholarship. This is the eleventh year of this award and it’s named for Donald W. Reynolds, a journalist, businessman and entrepreneur who left the Missouri School of Journalism to build a media empire that stretched across the country. Although he died in 1993, Reynolds remains the largest private donor to the Missouri School of Journalism.


Updated: June 22, 2020

Related Stories