Journalists and Digital Strategists for Obama and Romney Campaigns to Speak April 9 at ‘Twitterocracy: How Social Media Are Transforming Politics and Journalism’

Washington, D.C. (March 28, 2013) — Top journalists, political strategists, media executives and researchers will analyze the impact of digital media on informing and mobilizing citizens at the symposium, “Twitterocracy: How Social Media Are Transforming Politics and Journalism,” on Tuesday, April 9, at the National Press Club.

Jake Tapper
Jake Tapper

Sponsored by the Missouri School of Journalism, the 2013 Curtis B. Hurley Symposium will feature recent research findings, perspectives of journalists and political operatives on the impact of social media, and demonstrations of how social media add value to television news. Other sponsors are the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute and the National Press Club Journalism Institute.

Jake Tapper, anchor of The Lead and chief Washington correspondent for CNN, will give the luncheon keynote speech.

Additional speakers at the symposium include: Karen Tumulty, national political correspondent, Washington Post; Jonathan Martin, senior political reporter, POLITICO; Teddy Goff, digital director, Obama for America; Zac Moffatt, digital director, Romney for President; Peter Greenberger, director of Washington sales, Twitter; Jack Galmiche, president and general manager, Nine Network, St. Louis; Jacques Natz, senior vice president, SmithGeiger Media Consultants, and Aaron Smith, senior researcher, Pew Internet and American Life Project.

Scheduled Speakers for 2013 Hurley Symposium

Jack Galmiche Teddy Goff Peter Greenberger
Jonathan Martin Mitchell McKinney Zac Moffatt
Jacques Natz Aaron Smith Karen Tumulty

Top row, from left: Jack Galmiche, Teddy Goff, Peter Greenberger. Second row: Jonathan Martin, Mitchell McKinney, Zac Moffatt. Third row: Jacques Natz, Aaron Smith, Karen Tumulty.

Moderating the panels will be Barbara Cochran, Curtis B. Hurley Chair at the Missouri School of Journalism; Mitchell S. McKinney, associate professor of communication at the University of Missouri and a Donald W. Reynolds Fellow; and Kent Collins, associate professor and chairman of the radio-television journalism faculty at the Missouri School of Journalism and a Donald W. Reynolds Fellow.

Also participating in the event will be Dean Mills, dean of Missouri School of Journalism, and Randy Picht, executive director of the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute.

The daylong symposium will be streamed live online at

The Hurley Symposium explores issues in public policy and journalism and was created through an endowment gift from Edgar A. and Lucile McLaughlin in the name of the country editor, Curtis B. Hurley, who encouraged McLaughlin to attend the Missouri School of Journalism.

The symposium will begin with registration and a continental breakfast from 9 to 9:30 a.m., followed by the program from 9:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m. at the National Press Club, 529 14th St., N.W., in Washington.

Updated: July 14, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All