Missouri School of Journalism promotes five, welcomes four new faculty members

Elizabeth Brixey, Holly Higginbotham, Heather Isherwood, Laura Johnston, Kellie Stanfield, Jared Schroeder, Chau Tong, Joy Jenkins, Nick Mathews

By Austin Fitzgerald

COLUMBIA, Mo. (Aug. 17, 2023) — With the fall 2023 semester set to begin on Aug. 21, the Missouri School of Journalism today announced several faculty promotions and welcomes four new faculty members.

Those promoted to professional faculty professor are Elizabeth Brixey, Holly Higginbotham, Heather Isherwood and Laura Johnston. Additionally, Kellie Stanfield was promoted to associate professional practice professor. The promotions take effect Sept. 1.

They are joined by four new faculty members: Associate Professor Jared Schroeder, an expert in media law and the first amendment; Assistant Professor Chau Tong, a big data expert; and assistant professors Joy Jenkins and Nick Mathews, who will lead a research team at the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute focused on bridging the gap between the industry and academic research to help local news thrive around the country.

“The School of Journalism is dedicated both to nurturing talent from within and recruiting the best from all over the country,” said David Kurpius, dean of the School. “We believe an investment in excellent faculty is an investment in the community that benefits from their great work.”

Updated: August 17, 2023

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All