Missouri Wins First Place in Hearst Broadcast News Intercollegiate Competition

William Randolph Hearst Foundation Journalism Awards Program

The School of Journalism Also Ties for Second Place Overall

San Francisco (May 20, 2014) — The Missouri School of Journalism is one of nine universities sharing prizes totaling $64,000 as this year’s winners of the Intercollegiate Writing, Photojournalism and Broadcast News and Multimedia Competitions of the annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Hearst Journalism Awards Program
The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is often called “the Pulitzers of college journalism.” It operates under the auspices of the accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The 2013-14 prizes are awarded to the top three universities in each division of the Intercollegiate Competitions, with the top 10 of each category receiving Hearst medallions.

Often called “the Pulitzers of college journalism,” the Hearst program holds yearlong competitions in writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia for journalism undergraduates. Journalism schools accumulating the most points earned by their students in each category are designated the winners of the Intercollegiate Competitions.

The Overall Intercollegiate winners are those schools with the highest combined student points from the 1,109 entries submitted this year. The Missouri School of Journalism placed as follows:

  • Broadcast News: First Place, $10,000 Prize
  • Overall: Second Place (Tie)

School representatives and the other winners in each category will receive their cash prizes and medallions during the National Championships in Washington, D.C., at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation on Wednesday, June 4.

Medallions earned by the School are as follows:

  • Writing Medallion: Fifth Place
  • Photojournalism Medallion: Fifth Place
  • Multimedia Medallion: Fifth Place

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program operates under the auspices of the accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication. It is fully funded and administered by The William Randolph Hearst Foundation. Currently, 105 accredited undergraduate schools of journalism in the United States are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Publisher William Randolph Hearst established the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and The Hearst Foundation, Inc. in the 1940’s, a few years before his death in 1951. Since then, the Foundations have awarded nearly one billion dollars in grants and programs.

Updated: July 27, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All