John Schneller Wins $10,000 O.O. McIntyre Professorship for Teaching Excellence

John Schneller

Columbia, Mo. (May 13, 2013) — Associate Professor John Schneller is the winner of the 2013 O.O. McIntyre Professorship at the Missouri School of Journalism. The professorship recognizes teaching excellence and comes with a $10,000 salary supplement for the next academic year.

John Schneller
John Schneller

Schneller was drawn to journalism in grade school and reported in his hometown of Lewes, Del., before leaving in 1973 to attend the Missouri School of Journalism. During college, he covered southern Delaware for internships at the News-Journal and was a correspondent for the Kansas City Star and Times. Schneller was a reporter at the Columbia Daily Tribune and became city editor and special projects editor before joining the School of Journalism faculty in 2000.

Schneller was named a 2005 William T. Kemper Fellow for Excellence in Teaching at the University. The same year the Arab-U.S. Association for Communication Educators named him its Educator of the Year. Previous honors include a Scripps-Howard Foundation Distinguished Journalism Citation for outstanding reporting in the field of conservation as well as honorable mention from the Washington Journalism Center in competition for the Thomas L. Stokes Award for the best daily newspaper reporting on protection of the environment.

Winners of the O.O. McIntyre Professorship are:

  • 2013: John Schneller
  • 2012: Mary Kay Blakely
  • 2011: Jackie Bell
  • 2010: Glenn Leshner
  • 2009: Betty Winfield
  • 2008: Brian Brooks
  • 2007: Stacey Woelfel
  • 2006: Steve Weinberg
  • 2005: Lynda Kraxberger
  • 2004: David Rees
  • 2003: Jan Colbert
  • 2002: Byron Scott
  • 2001: Sandy Davidson
  • 2000: Zoe Smith
  • 1999: Mike McKean
  • 1998: Ron Naeger
  • 1997: Lee Wilkins
  • 1996: George Kennedy
  • 1995: Don Ranly
  • 1994: Daryl Moen
  • 1993: Keith Sanders
  • 1992: Won Chang
  • 1991: Rod Gelatt
  • 1990: Ed Lambeth
  • 1989: Dale Spencer
  • 1988: Paul Fisher
  • 1987: Ernest Morgan

About the O.O. McIntyre Professorship

The professorship is named for O.O. McIntyre, one of the most widely known New York columnists during the 1920s and 1930s. His column, “New York Day by Day,” was syndicated to 508 newspapers in every state, Canada and Mexico. Born in Plattsburg, Mo., McIntyre was raised in Gallipolis, Ohio, where he got his start in newspapers as a reporter for $5 a week. McIntyre died in 1938, and his widow left part of his estate to the Missouri School of Journalism. In her will, she established the O.O. McIntyre Postgraduate Writing Fellowship to help aspiring writers and the O.O. McIntyre Professorship to recognize outstanding educators.

Updated: August 15, 2019

Related Stories