Jennifer Rowe Wins the O.O. McIntyre Professorship for Teaching Excellence

The Award Comes with a $10,000 Salary Supplement for Next Academic Year

Columbia, Mo. (May 17, 2016) — Associate Professor Jennifer Rowe is the 2016 winner of the O.O. McIntyre Professorship at the Missouri School of Journalism. The award recognizes teaching excellence and comes with a $10,000 salary supplement for the 2016-17 academic year.

Nominators said Rowe’s high academic standards, leadership, service to the School and students made her a top choice for the award.

“Jenn is an outstanding leader in our School,” said one. Other nominators called Rowe’s teaching skills and the success of the magazine journalism faculty under her stewardship as “outstanding.”

Rowe joined the Journalism School faculty in 1998. For about a dozen years she served as editorial director of Vox Magazine and taught the Magazine Staff class, which produces the weekly city magazine. She regularly teaches Magazine Editing, one of the core courses for magazine students. Several of the articles written by students in her Intermediate Writing class in the past two years have won awards by the Society of Professional Journalists, Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication and Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Jennifer Rowe
Jennifer Rowe, top, consults with a student on an assignment. Bottom: Chancellor Brady Deaton congratulates Rowe upon her selection for the William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence in 2009.

Rowe received the William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence in 2009 and the MU Provost’s Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching Award in 2004. A faculty initiate of Golden Key and Omicron Delta Kappa honor societies in 2001, she has also been recognized by the MU chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists and the Journalism Graduate Student Association for her work with students and has been a Mizzou 39 faculty honoree three times in the past nine years.

In August 2012, Rowe became chair of the magazine journalism faculty. That same year, she started serving on MU’s Chair’s Council representing the School of Journalism. She was selected to participate in MU’s Leadership Development Program two years later. This academic year Rowe has been an active member of the Strategic Planning Leadership Team, the new Awards and Orientation Committee, Undergraduate Scholarship Committee and the Professional Practice/ Nontenure Track Bylaws Review Task Force.

About the O.O. McIntyre Professorship
The professorship is named for O.O. McIntyre, one of the most widely known New York columnists during the 1920s and 1930s. His column, “New York Day by Day,” was syndicated to 508 newspapers in every state, Canada and Mexico. Born in Plattsburg, Mo., McIntyre was raised in Gallipolis, Ohio, where he got his start in newspapers as a reporter for $5 a week. McIntyre died in 1938, and his widow left part of his estate to the Missouri School of Journalism. In her will, she established the O.O. McIntyre Postgraduate Writing Fellowship to help aspiring writers and the O.O. McIntyre Professorship to recognize outstanding educators.

Winners of the O.O. McIntyre Professorship

Updated: September 25, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All