11 Missouri Journalism Students Win Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Editing Internships

Columbia, Mo. (Jun 1, 2009) — Eleven Missouri Journalism students have been selected for the prestigious 2009 Dow Jones Newspaper Fund summer internships.

The students were among the 78 undergraduate and graduate students picked to work as multimedia, sports or newspaper copy editors. Each student will receive pre-internship training and pay at their news organizations for 10 weeks. Interns who return to college full time the following fall will receive $1,000 scholarships from the Fund.

Tyler Armao Stephanie Call Anna Codutti Julia Haslanger Aja Junior
Amanda Kushner Kendra Lueckert Alexandra McGuffie William Powell Emily Ristow

Top row, from left: Tyler Armao, Stephanie Call, Anna Codutti, Julia Haslanger, Aja Junior. Second row: Amanda Kushner, Kendra Lueckert, Alexandra McGuffie, William Powell, Emily Ristow.

For almost 50 years, top reporters and editors have had the privilege of receiving Dow Jones Newspaper Fund training. The Newspaper Fund, founded in 1958 by editors of The Wall Street Journal, seeks to improve the quality of journalism education. Now one of the most recognized editing programs in the world, the Newspaper Fund regularly accepts Missouri Journalism students along with the best and brightest future journalists in the country.

Brian Brooks, associate dean for undergraduate studies and administration, has served as deputy director or director of the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund editing internship program at Missouri for more than 30 years. He said that the School has led the nation in the number of Dow Jones internships for at least the last five years.

“There are only about 80 students from around the country who get these internships,” Brooks said. “For one school to get this many is a tremendous honor. It says a lot about the students who go here and Mizzou’s commitment to copy editing. We have a high number of students who are interested in copy editing.”

Students and their Dow Jones internship locations are:

Updated: May 4, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All