Two Missouri School of Journalism Students Place in Top 10 of Picture Story/Series Category of Hearst Journalism Awards Program

William Randolph Hearst Foundation Journalism Awards Program

By Erik Hall

Columbia, Mo. (April 4, 2013) — Two Missouri School of Journalism students placed in the top 10 in the Photo II-Picture Story/Series category of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Sarah Hoffman received the seventh-place certificate, and Jaime Henry-White, the ninth-place certificate. The winners were selected from 61 entries submitted from 38 schools nationwide.

Sarah Hoffman
Sarah Hoffman

Hoffman’s entry was about how two sisters cope after a devastating car accident. On March 15, 2009, Kayla was a passenger in a car accident that killed her boyfriend of five months and caused her severe brain damage, broke her neck, pelvic bone and shoulder blade. Kara, the baby of the family, has become the big sister by helping Kayla feed herself, get dressed and go to sleep. Although it can be frustrating, Kara knows her sister would do the same for her.

Jaime Henry-White
Jaime Henry-White

Henry-White’s entry focuses on the story of a transgender man named Simon living in Copenhagen, Denmark. Simon has waited his entire life to transition after facing setback after setback. While waiting to move along in this process, Simon works to balances his transgender identity with being a single parent for his daughter and son.

“We are able to enter only two students in each round of the Hearst competition, and Sarah and Jamie are great representatives of the dedicated and passionate photojournalism students we have in our program,” said David Rees, chair of the photojournalism faculty. “We are proud of them and the outstanding, intimate storytelling work they produce.”

The photojournalism judges are: Steve Gonzales, director of photography, Houston Chronicle; Sue Morrow, assistant multimedia editor, Sacramento Bee, Calif; and Jakub Mosur, freelance photographer, San Francisco.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program has held an annual photojournalism contest since 1970. The Awards Program also includes five writing contests, three broadcast competitions and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships.

Updated: July 15, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All