47 Walter Williams Scholars Begin Their Studies at the Missouri School of Journalism

Selection Is By-Invitation-Only to High Ability Students Who Score More Than 33 on the ACT

Columbia, Mo. (Sept. 17, 2013) — The Missouri School of Journalism welcomed 47 exceptional students this fall as they began their careers in journalism as Walter Williams Scholars. The talented students come from 14 states, and one is from South Korea.

Students must earn at least a 33 on the ACT to be considered for the Walter Williams Scholars program. The group boasts a host of academic achievements including 15 students recognized by the National Merit program, nine named AP Scholars and six named University of Missouri Discovery Fellows.

Kevin Ackermann Katie Akin Natalia Alamdari Marleigh Anderson Marisa Anz Varun Bajaj Connor Crouch Brendan Crowley Austin Dorrell
Dominic Faust Lindsay Gloor Ginger Hervey Samantha Hoffmann Eric Hulting Nicholas Ippolito Kaley Johnson Abigail Killian Soo Rin Kim
Michael Klinge Kiersten Kuc Katie Kull Allyson Layton Derrick Lin Asa Lory Hunter Myers Theresa Nguyen Madeline Odle
Erika Peepo Austin Perschbacher Joseph Petersen Olivia Picht Allison Pierce Jake Schnierow Pranav Shastry Braden Smith Curran Steck
Sarah Thompson Glenn Winfrey Mara Worley Majiyebo Yacim Eric Yount Daphne Yu

Top row, from left: Kevin Ackermann, Katie Akin, Natalia Alamdari, Marleigh Anderson, Marisa Anz, Varun Bajaj, Connor Crouch, Brendan Crowley, Austin Dorrell. Second row: Dominic Faust, Lindsay Gloor, Ginger Hervey, Samantha Hoffmann, Eric Hulting, Nicholas Ippolito, Kaley Johnson, Abigail Killian, Soo Rin Kim. Third row: Michael Klinge, Kiersten Kuc, Katie Kull, Allyson Layton, Derrick Lin, Asa Lory, Hunter Myers, Theresa Nguyen, Madeline Odle. Fourth row: Erika Peepo, Austin Perschbacher, Joseph Petersen, Olivia Picht, Allison Pierce, Jake Schnierow, Pranav Shastry, Braden Smith, Curran Steck. Fifth row: Sarah Thompson, Glenn Winfrey, Mara Worley, Majiyebo Yacim, Eric Yount, Daphne Yu. Not Pictured: Mallory Brown, Mitchell Forde, Andrew Kessel, Zachary Reger, Jacob Renie.

“We are delighted these students chose Mizzou,” said Associate Dean Emeritus Brian Brooks. “They come from all parts of the country and represent the best of incoming freshmen nationwide who seek to become journalists and strategic communicators.”

The group holds a variety of journalistic experience, with 11 students serving as editors, co-editors or section editors of their respective high school publications. Natalia Alamdari received first place in news writing in the Texas UIL Journalism Contest. Soo Rin Kim interned for the Korea Center for Freedom of Information.

Many students excelled at a variety of sports including football, cross county, track and field, golf, dance, softball, water polo, basketball and baseball. Mitchell Forde is a scholarship swimmer for the University of Missouri. Mara Worley was named an All-America athlete in lacrosse, and Theresa Nguyen was badminton conference champion for two years.

Several scholars devote time to arts and music through theater and instruments. Daphne Yu wrote a symphony performed by the Missouri Symphony Orchestra.

The Walter Williams Scholars Program, named for the School’s founding dean, accepts the highest-achieving freshmen by invitation only. Once on campus, students are placed in a special Freshman Interest Group, receive a personal faculty mentor and a $1,000 scholarship to study abroad or in the School’s programs in New York City and Washington, D.C., at any time before graduation.

Updated: July 20, 2020

Related Stories

Expand All Collapse All